Track your constituency

Home» Blog» Total By-Elections

Total By-Elections

May 24, 2018

By-elections 2018
By-polls for both Assembly and the Parliamentary constituencies will be held on May 28 as announced by the Election Commission of India. The results for the elections will be declared on May 31. The fight for both the Assembly as well as the Parliamentary seats is going to be really tough this time as these by-elections will be serving as a teaser to the big picture of the parties just ahead of the general elections of 2019.

This time, the elections will be held for four parliamentary constituencies and ten assembly constituencies. The parliamentary constituencies include two seats in Maharashtra, one in Nagaland and another in Uttar Pradesh and the Assembly constituencies include Noorpur in Uttar Pradesh, Chengannur in Kerala, Tharali in Uttrakhand, Jokihat in Bihar, Gomia and Silli in Jharkhand, Palus Kadegaon in Maharashtra, Ampti (ST) in Meghalaya, Shahkot in Punjab, and Maheshtala in West Bengal. The by-elections were necessitated at these places as seats were left vacant due to the death of the legislators. Other seats were left vacant due to the resignations of MLAs and MPs.

The Election Commision of India has announced that the Lok Sabha and Assembly constituencies going to by-polls should use Voter-verified paper audit trails (VVPATs) at all booths. The Lok Sabha constituencies have about 2150 booths and Assembly constituencies have 300 booths.

Pin It

Disclaimer: The views expressed are of those of the author and do not represent the views of

Facebook Like Box