Track your constituency

Home» Blog» #Bihar politics

Tag Archives : #Bihar politics

Is Nitish Kumar a Worried Man?

Those who have watched the post-results press conference on Sunday (8 November), must have heard what Nitish Kumar said, “This is a huge victory which suggests people of Bihar have aspirations. We will match their expectations”. Deep inside, the new CM knows that it’s easier said than done. The euphoria over a clear mandate in favour of the Grand Alliance might disappear if he fails to move the wheels of good governance. As the Chief […]

BJP Has Lot to Learn From Bihar Debacle

The BJP got a loud wake-up call after Bihar scripted a clear rout for the party in the assembly elections. Already termed as the most definitive electoral defeat, this clear mandate against the BJP-led NDA might create jolt in the confidence of the alliance. Instead of speculating on possible ramifications of this loss, let’s try to pinpoint the reasons that have worked against the BJP, because the party has lot to learn from this defeat. […]


Besides the BJP’s crushing defeat and Nitish Kumar’s triumph, the 2015 Bihar election results will be remembered for the remarkable comeback by Lalu Prasad Yadav. The RJD chief’s political obituary has been written several times. Even his rustic jokes had gone stale, some critics sneered. But in the course of the long election campaign, one noticed a spring in Lalu’s step. Some of the old acerbic humour was back. The theatrics, which are part of […]

Will the victory of Mahagathbandhan further strengthen anti-BJP alliance

The significance of the grand alliance’s dramatic victory goes far beyond Bihar. It and has once again propelled chief minister Nitish Kumar to the centre stage of national politics. This is not an unfamiliar terrain for the JD(U) leader, and there was a time when he was being spoken about as a possible prime minister candidate. But the circumstances could not have been more different from today. Those were the days when Nitish was in […]

Possible Impact of Bihar Debacle on Modi

Despite inevitable attempts by BJP leaders to isolate Narendra Modi from the outcome of the Bihar assembly elections, there is little doubt that the results represent a personal setback for the Prime Minister. Not only was Modi the face of the BJP campaign, he addressed dozens of rallies, deep in the Bihar heartland, going further than perhaps any other Prime Minister has ever gone in canvassing votes in the state. It is possible to argue […]


Now that the results of Bihar assembly elections are out, it’s time for introspection. Where did the BJP-led NDA go wrong? The party had made this election a referendum on the Modi government and it is are now realising the fact that high-octane campaigning of the Modi-Shah gargantuan couldn’t save the alliance from being drubbed. This dramatic turnaround for the Grand Alliance is suggestive of the fact that the Bihar voters were not swayed by […]

Bihar Election Exit Poll 2015

Bihar Election Exit Polls Pollsters BJP+ JDU+ Others 118-125 120-128 5-7 NDTV 120-130 105-115 5-10 ABP-Neilsen 108 130 5 India Today – Cicero 120 117 6 News Nation 117 122 10 CNX- News-X 93 132 18 News24- Today’s Chanakya 155 83 5 India TV-C Voter 111 122 10 AAJ Tak – Cicero 120 117 6   With the final phase of polling for the Bihar elections ending on Thursday evening, the action has shifted […]

Who are the Contenders for Bihar CM’s Post?

With the final leg of polling over and exit polls predicting a cliffhanger, all eyes are on who will form the next government in Bihar. During the grueling five-phased elections, a keen contest was seen between the  Mahagathbandhan – the grand alliance of Janata Dal (United), Rashtriya Janata Dal and the Congress, or the United Democratic Alliance comprising the Bharatiya Janata Party, the Lok Janshakti Party, the Rashtriya Lok Samata Party and the Hindustani Awam […]

Peaceful Voting, Large Turnout Mark the Fifth Phase

The fifth and concluding phase of Bihar elections for 57 assembly seats on November 5 saw 60% turnout of voters which was the highest these elections, surpassing the 57.59% voter turnout in the fourth phase of elections. Each of the phases saw over 55% voting except the third phase which saw the lowest turnout at 53.32%. The turnout in the fifth phase was 4.56% more than the last assembly elections and 0.59% more than the […]

The grueling electioneering now comes to an end as Bihar gears up for the fifth and final phase of polling to be held in 57 assembly constituencies of nine districts – including the Muslim-dominated Seemanchal region comprising Araria, Purnea, Kishanganj and Katihar districts – on 5 November. The nine districts going to polls in the fifth phase are Araria, Darbhanga, Katihar, Kishanganj, Madhepura, Madhubani, Purnia, Saharsa and Supaul. The fifth phase has the highest number […]

Facebook Like Box