Track your constituency

Home» Blog»assam assembly election 2016 Archives | Elections Blog

Tag Archives : assam assembly election 2016

BJP Wins in Assam

The poll outcome in Assam has been a giant leap for the Bharatiya Janata Party in a state where in the last assembly elections in 2011 it won just 5 of the 126 seats! The poll outcome though was along the predicted lines of the exit polls this time.  This was one election where the BJP had sensed an outside chance of creating history by annexing power for the first ever time in North East. […]

Assam Exit Poll 2016

May 16, 2016
Assam Elections Opinion Poll

Assam Election 2016 Exit Poll Pollsters BJP+ INC AIUDF+ Others 60 40 16 10 CVoter 57 41 18 10 India Today-Axis 86 28 7 0 ABP 81 33 10 2 News Nation 65 49 9 3 Chanakya 90 27 9   NDTV 73 37 12 4 Assembly elections were conducted in the frontier state of Assam in two phases on 4 and 11 April. Assam has 126 Assembly constituencies. All exit polls say that […]

Voter Turnout in Assam and West Bengal Polls 2016

An FIR was filed against Assam Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi (Congress) under Section 126 of the Representation of People’s Act at the direction of the Election Commission for violating the model code of conduct by holding a press conference in Guwahati during the second phase of polling in the state. The allegations made by Gogoi during the press conference were found unfounded by the Commission which viewed the press conference as an exercise to influence […]

Who will be the next CM of Assam

There is a saying – once bitten twice shy. For the BJP, it’s a case of twice bitten in successive state elections. The major blow was in Bihar where the party banked heavily on its mascot, Prime Minister Narendra Modi. Even the Delhi elections were no different where its CM face Kiran Bedi was a last-minute afterthought. Hence, understandably, the BJP now tries to insulate Modi in West Bengal, where even its most ardent supporters […]

Assam Election First Phase Poll Summary

Chief minister Tarun Gogoi as well as the CM face of the Bharatiya Janata Party, Sarbananda Sonowal were among 539 candidates including 43 female candidates, whose fate were sealed in the ballot box in the first round of voting in Assam after the first phase of the two-phased state assembly elections on 4 April. While Gogoi is pitted against the BJP’s Lok Sabha member from Jorhat, Kamakhya Prasad Tasa, in Titabor constituency, Sonowal is contesting […]

Assam Elections Agenda

The political agenda is clear for every key player in Assam these elections. The Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and Bodoland People’s Front (BPF) charted their agenda of allying with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). The ruling Congress, not taking any chance against a perceived anti-incumbency, has maintained a distance from the All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) while the latter’s agenda is to keep its Muslim support base intact to play a kingmaker in case […]

Candidates for Assam Assembly Elections

Two very significant developments took place in Assam in the last few days: The BJP released party’s ‘vision document’ for the upcoming assembly elections and a new opinion poll predicted hung assembly with AIUDF likely to be the ‘kingmaker’. These developments are crucial for the simple fact that two parties – the Congress and AGP –  which have been ruling the state intermittently, are anxious of their prospects. Although AGP took a tough call of […]

Assam Elections - Exploring the Possibilities

Last few days in Assam have been unpredictable, to say the least. Last-minute formation of alliances, disgruntled members forming splinter groups, and party stalwarts launching attacks against each other – all these have made Assam the true battle field ahead of the two-phase elections. As the BJP and the Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) announce their candidates and hold several meetings with the party members on the future road map, let’s have a look at the […]

Assam opinion-polls-suggest-victory-for-BJP

As the term of Assam’s legislative assembly comes to an end in June 2016, the stage is set for another round of elections to elect MLAs from the state’s 126 constituencies. A full bench of the Election Commission of India toured Assam on 21 December 2015 to assess the state’s poll preparedness. The commission will announce the final election schedule in March, 2016. Nonetheless, it is expected that elections will be held somewhere between April […]

Facebook Like Box