Track your constituency

Home» Blog» Maharashtra MLC Election Update

Maharashtra MLC Election Update

May 13, 2020

On 10 May, NCP (Nationalist Congress Party) declared 2 candidates for the upcoming Maharashtra MLC election. BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party) has announced four candidates. Shiva Sena and Congress declared two candidates each for the polls. This takes the total number of candidates for the Maharashtra MLC election to 10. But the total number of seats are 9 and so, it will be a dreadful defeat for the one who doesn’t win a seat.

MLC Election

The Maharashtra Vikas Aghadi (tie-up of Congress, Shiv Sena, NCP, and other smaller parties) is enjoying the support of 171 MLAs. If we go by the poll mathematics, each contestant will need 29 votes in order to become an MLC. A contestant with 3 extra votes will emerge victorious in this election.

BJP avoids its senior leaders from participating in Maharashtra MLC Election

On 8 May, BJP announced 4 candidates for the Maharashtra MLC election. This time, BJP has no senior leaders as the candidates for the polls. Eknath Khadse, Chandrashekhar Bawankule, and Pankaja Munde were expected to participate in these polls. For a change, BJP doesn’t want to focus on just the senior leaders. The candidates for the state’s MLC election are Pravin Datke, Gopichand Padalkar, Dr Ajit Gopchade, and Ranjit Singh Mohite-Patil.

Pravin Datke is currently the Nagpur BJP president. Being a party loyalist, he has a closer connection with the Union Minister Nitin Gadkari.

Dr Ajit Gopchade is the president of the party’s medical cell in Maharashtra. Gopichand Padalkar participated in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections as a candidate of Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi. However, he couldn’t win a seat. Before the Assembly polls, he joined the BJP and contested against NCP leader Ajit Pawar. Mr Padalkar had to face defeat here as well. Ranjit Singh Mohite-Patil is an ex-NCP leader and he joined the BJP before the Lok Sabha elections. BJP has tried to maintain the social equation through the selection of 3 OBC candidates and 1 Maratha candidate (Mr Mohite-Patil).

Pin It

Disclaimer: The views expressed are of those of the author and do not represent the views of

Facebook Like Box