Track your constituency

Home» Blog» By-Poll Results Summary

By-Poll Results Summary

June 1, 2018

By-Poll Results State wise Breakup

The Thursday’s by-polls were a far cry from predictable and brought many new changes and faces into the political circle. While some parties managed to retain their seats, some faced a drastic defeat. Here is the break down of yesterday’s by-polls….

Uttar Pradesh

By-polls took place for the crucial Lok Sabha seat- Kairana and the Assembly seat- Noorpur. Tabassum Hasan from Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) has won the Kairana seat after defeating Mriganka Singh of BJP by more than 44,000 votes. She has become the first Muslim Member of Parliament from UP. The seat fell vacant because of BJP MP and Mriganka Singh’s father Hukum Singh died.
The Noorpur seat was won by SP’s Naeemul Hasan who defeated Avni Singh of BJP. The by-polls took place to fill the vacancy caused due to the death of Avni Singh’s husband Lokendra Singh Chauhan.


The by-polls took place for filling two Lok Sabha seats: Palghar and Bhandara-Gondiya. The Bhandara-Gondiya seat was lost by BJP to NCP. Nonetheless, Palghar was retained by the saffron party- Rajendra Gavit of BJP defeated Shrinivas Wanaga of Shiv Sena.


The by-polls took place for the state’s only Lok Sabha seat. Tokheho Yepthomi of NDPP won the poll contest by 173,746 votes, defeating a former Rajya Sabha member, Jamir. The by-poll was necessitated after MP Neiphiu Rio resigned to take the post of state’s CM.


The by-poll at Chengannur was necessitated because of the death of CPM’s MLA KK Ramachandran Nair. CPM’s Saji Cheriyan won the bypolls by a huge margin- defeating Congress’ Vijaykumar by 20,956 votes.


The polls took place for RR Nagar now as the original polls were deferred by the Election Commission from the regular date of May 12 because of the voter ID controversy and other electoral malpractices. Congress’ N Munirathna won the seat defeating BJP’s Tulsi Muniraju Gowda by a margin of more than 25,400 votes.


The polls took place for the Shahkot Assembly seat. Hardev Singh Ladi of Congress defeated Naib Singh Kohar of Shiromani Akali Dal by 38,801 votes.


The by-polls took place for the assembly seat Jokihat as MLA Sarfaraz Alam resigned from the seat. Shahnawaz Alam of RJD defeated JD(U)’s Murshid Alam by 40,000 votes.


The by-polls for Ampati took place to fill the vacancy created after the former CM Mukul Sangma left the seat. The seat has been won by none other than his own daughter Miani D Shira (Congress). She defeated Clement G Momin of NPP, bagging a total of 14,259 votes.


The by-polls took place for 2 Assembly seats- Gomia and Silli. Both the seats were retained by JMM. In Gomia, Babita Devi of JMM defeated Lambodar Mahto of AJSU by a margin of 13,000 votes. In Silli, Seema Mahto of JMM defeated AJSU’s Sudesh Mahto by a margin of again 13,000 votes. The polls were necessitated as JMM’s Amit Mahto and Yogendra Mahto were convicted.


The by-poll took place for the Tharali Assembly seat. The polls were necessitated because of the death of sitting legislator Magan Lal Shah. The polls were won by his widow Munni Devi Shah(BJP), defeating Jeet Ram of Congress by a margin of more than 1,900 votes.

West Bengal

The by-poll took place for the Maheshtala Assembly seat. TMC’s Dulal Das registered a remarkable victory, defeating the nearest rival Sujit Ghosh (BJP) by more than 62,765 votes.


Disclaimer: The views expressed are of those of the author and do not represent the views of

Facebook Like Box