Track your constituency

Jangipur Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2019

Lok sabha election result will be declared on 23rd May 2019.

Elections Latest News And Updates

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: BSP announces candidates for 6 Chhattisgarh Seats

The candidates were announced for Bastar, Kanker, Raigarh, Durg, Surguja, and Janjgir Champa. The last of these six seats — an SC reserved seat — is where the BSP is Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 BJP trying to create ‘hyper nationalistic environment’ ahead of Lok Sabha Elections: Rahul Gandhi

Congress president Rahul Gandhi has accused the BJP of trying to create a ‘hyper nationalistic environment’ ahead of the Lok Sabha Elections only to distract people from the issues of Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Mamata Releases TMC List for all 42 West Bengal Seats

West Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee on Tuesday announced a list of TMC candidates for all the 42 Lok Sabha seats of the state, dropping 10 sitting MPs. She also attacked the BJP and the Read More…

Lok Sabha Election 2019 Lok Sabha Election 2019: Priya Dutt, Raj Babbar Feature in Congress 2nd List

The Congress released its second list of 21 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections 2019 on Wednesday. The grand old party fielded its Uttar Pradesh chief Raj Babbar from Moradabad, Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Congress Releases First List of Candidates

Congress has put out its first list of candidates for the Lok Sabha elections, with party chief Rahul Gandhi contesting his bastion Amethi and UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi contesting from Read More…

upcoming Lok Sabha elections 2019 Samajwadi Party Releases First List of Candidates for Lok Sabha Elections 2019

There is no denying the fact that the road to the treasury bench of the lower house of the Parliament goes through Uttar Pradesh. The BJP-led coalition won 73 seats Read More…

One of the 42 parliamentary constituencies of the state of West Bengal, Jangipur Lok Sabha Constituency was formed prior to the 1967 elections. The total number of electorates in the Jangipur Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 9) according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports are 1,087,054 of which 561,735 are males and 525,319 are females. It comprises of the seven Vidhan Sabha assembly segments of which two are reserved for the SC category and the constituency has a total of over 1,087,000 voters. It represents the Murshidabad District and belongs to the Jangipur Sub-Division. Jangipur or Jahangirpur is a city lying at an elevation of 11 m along the eastern border of the state. Bengali is the official language while Hindi, Urdu, Marwari and English are also widely spoken in the area.

As per the 2011 census, the Urban Agglomeration of Jangipur has a population of 122,900 with a 52% male majority, 48% females and a child population of about 16,300. The average literacy rate of the area is 76% with male literacy rate of 84% and female literacy rate of 70%. Agriculture is the primary economic activity and mangoes, rice, jute and wheat are the chiefly cultivated crops. Cottage Industries like weaving are also common in the area while tobacco is also widely processed here. Several major roads connect it to nearby cities in and around the state allowing easy road transport to and from the town.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Jangipur Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Jangipur parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Jangipur constituency is Shri Abhijit Mukherjee of INC.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
20149JangipurGENAbhijit MukherjeeMINC378201Muzaffar HossainMCPM370040
2012Bye PolJangipurGENMukherjee,Shri Abhijit MINC332919Muzaffar HossainMCPM330383
20099JangipurGENPranab Mukherjee MINC506749Mriganka Sekhar BhattacharyaMCPM378600
20048JangipurGENPranab MukherjeeMINC431647Abul Hasnat KhanMCPM394787
19998JangipurGENAbul Hasnat KhanMCPM352580Mainul HaqueMINC291263
19988JangipurGENAbul Hasnat KhanMCPM396761Abu Hasem Khan ChowdhuryMINC324260
19968JangipurGENMd. Idris AliMINC392942Abedin ZainalMCPM379820
19918JangipurGENAbedin ZainalMCPM303254Mannan HossainMINC256615
19898JangipurGENAbedin ZainalMCPM309798Mohammad SohrabMINC270617
19848JangipurGENAbedin ZainalMCPM283977Md. SohorabMINC269239
19808JangipurGENZainal AbedinMCPM268932Lutfal HaqueMINC(I)196106
19778JangipurGENSasankasekher SanyalMCPM155008Lutfal Haque (Haji)MINC152822
19717JangipurGENLutfal HaqueMINC104170Barun RoyMRSP54814
19677JangipurGENH. L. HaqueMINC130927J. GuptaMIND79238

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about current sitting MP of Jangipur Constituency

Name of MP Dr. Abhijit Mukherjee
Age 58
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party Indian National Congress
Gender Male
Educational Qualification B.E. (Mech.), Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa),
Activities of Dr. Abhijit Mukherjee in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 29
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 146
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Jangipur Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Jangipur parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
SagardighiLalgolaNabagram (SC)
Khargram (SC) 

Last Updated on March 13, 2019