What will be the Voter turnout for Phase 2 of Chhattisgarh Elections 2018?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp

Asansol Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2014

One of the 42 parliamentary constituencies of West Bengal, Asansol is a constituency representing the Burdwan District. The Asansol Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 40) consists of 1,250,052 number of electorates in totality, of these 689,404 are males and 560,648 are females as the Election commission of India 2009 data suggests. It was formed prior to the 1957 elections and has a total of 1,251,000 voters. This constituency has seven assembly segments all of which lie in Burdwan District. Asansol is the second largest city of the state and is the 11th fastest growing city of the country. It lies on the Chota Nagpur Plateau between the rivers of Damodar and Ajay covering a total area of 128 sq km at an average elevation of 97 m.

As per 2011 census, the urban agglomeration of Asansol has a population of about 1,243,000 of which 133,000 are under the age of six. About 52% of the population is male and the sex ratio is 919 females for every 1000 males. The average literacy rate of Asansol is around 80%. Economic activities of the area include steel manufacturing, coal mining and trade. Asansol has several premier schools like St. Patrick's and Loreto Convent. One of the state's top engineering colleges is located here. Bengali, English, Hindi and Urdu are the common languages here. The Grand Trunk Road or National Highways NH-2 and NH-60 pass through here.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Asansol Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Asansol parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Asansol constituency is Shri Babul Supriya Baral (Babul Supriyo) of BJP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201440AsansolGENBabul Supriya Baral (Babul Supriyo)MBJP419983Dola SenMAITC349503
200940AsansolGENChowdhury,Shri Bansa Gopal MCPM435161Ghatak MoloyMAITC362205
2005Bye PolAsansolGENBansagopal Choudhury MCPI(M)410740Ghatak Moloy MAITC180799
200438AsansolGENBikash ChowdhuryMCPM369832Ghatak MoloyMAITC245514
199938AsansolGENBikash ChowdhuryMCPM377265Ajit Ghatak (Moloy Ghatak)MAITC339401
199838AsansolGENBikash ChowdhuryMCPM355382Ajit Kumar Ghaatak (Moloy Ghaatak)MWBTC329233
199638AsansolGENHaradhan RoyMCPM376806Sukumar BandyopadhyayMINC329856
199138AsansolGENHaradhan RoyMCPM316504Deba Prasad RoyMINC221646
198938AsansolGENHaradhan RoyMCPM374281Pradip BhattacharjeeMINC332044
198438AsansolGENAnada Gopal MukherjeeMINC334212Bamapada MukherjeeMCPM247546
198038AsansolGENAnanda Gopal MukhopadhyaMINC(I)175703Robin SenMCPM166051
197738AsansolGENRobin SenMCPM163492Syed Mohammad JalalMINC91265
197136AsansolGENRobin SenMCPM132268Narayan Choudhury MINC98608
196736AsansolGEND. SenMSSP99276J. N. Mukhopadhyay MINC92284
196232AsansolGENAtulya GhoshMINC70835Ket Narayan MisraMCPI61991
19579AsansolGENMono Mohan DasMINC186374Ambuja Bhusan BoseMIND126026
19579AsansolGENAtulya Ghosh MINC163725Amarendra Nath Saha MIND109149

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about current sitting MP of Asansol Constituency

Name of MP Shri Babul Supriyo
Age 48
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party Bharatiya Janata Party(
Gender Male
Educational Qualification B.Com (Hons.)
Activities of Shri Babul Supriyo in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 18
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 0
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Asansol Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Asansol parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Pandabeswar RaniganjJamuria
Asansol Dakshin Asansol Uttar Kulti

Last Updated on February 24, 2015

Track your constituency