What will be the Voter turnout for Phase 2 of Chhattisgarh Elections 2018?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp

Shibpur (West Bengal) Assembly Constituency Elections 2018

Winner and Runnerup Candidate in Shibpur assembly constituency

The table below shows the Winner and Runnerup candidate form the Shibpur Assembly Constituency. The party symbol is also shown along.

Winner Candidate -
Jatu Lahiri (won by:27014 )
Political Party -

Shibpur Election Results 2016

Table showing the winning and the runner-up Candidate of the 2016 Vidhan Sabha Election in Shibpur Assembly

YearPartySymbolstatusCandidate Namevotes
2016 AIFB RunnerUpJagannath Bhattacharyya 61062
2016 AITC WinnerJatu Lahiri 88076

List of candidates for Shibpur Constituency 2016

The table below shows the contesting candidates of AITMC, BJP, CPI(M), Congress, CPI, Independent etc. from the Shibpur Assembly Constituency in the West bengal Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Elections 2016.

Shibpur , Constituency No -(172)
Election Date04/25/16 
Result Date05/19/16 
Election Symbol Political PartyCandidate Name
BSPBSPBrij Lal Prasad
AIFB AIFB Jagannath Bhattacharyya
AITC AITC Jatu Lahiri
BJPBJPRamaprasad Bhattacharya
INDINDRajat Bhatak
INDINDShyam Sundar Hazra
SUCI(C)SUCI(C)Kartick Shil

About Shibpur Assembly Constituency

Shibpur is constituency No. 172 of West Bengal legislative assembly. It is in Howrah district and part of Lok Sabha constituency No. 25 which is also referred as Howrah. It is an unreserved constituency.

According to data with the Election Commission of India, Shibpur constituency has 1,97,987 registered voters, which comprises 94,291 female and 1,03,696 male voters.

The constituency of Shibpur has been a level battleground for various political parties. The Congress, CPI(M) and Forward Bloc parties have had their reign in this constituency from time to time. The Trinamool Congress first won this seat in 2001. In 2006, it went to Forward Bloc. However, the seat was won back by Trinamool Congress in the 2011 assembly elections. Jatu Lahiri of TMC bagged 1,00,739 votes. His main opponent, Jagannath Bhattacharya of All India Forward Bloc, got just 54,335 votes. The winning margin was an impressive 46,404. The voter turnout was 82.31%.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Shibpur Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Shibpur assembly elections conducted so far.

YearA C No.Constituency NameCategoryWinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
2011172ShibpurGENJatu LahiriMAITC100739Jagannath BhattacharyyaMAIFB54335
2006165ShibpurGENDr. Jagannath BhattacharyyaMAIFB92894Jatu LahiriMAITC83335
2001165ShibpurGENJatu LahiriMAITC105921Nepal Kanti BhattacharjeeMFBL92703
1996165ShibpurGENJatu LahiriMINC102985Prabir Kumar BanerjeeMFBL88111
1991165ShibpurGENJatu LahiriMINC76246Satyendra Nath GhoseMFBL72138
1987165ShibpurGENSatyendra Nath GhoseMFBL69507Mrigen MukherjeeMINC62542
1984By PollsShibpurGENS.N.GhoseMFBL62094M.BanerjeeMINC56224
1982165ShibpurGENKanailal BhattacharyaMFBL61381Utpal BhowmickMINC41435
1977165ShibpurGENKanai Lal BhattacharyyaMFBL41850Mrigendra MukherjeeMINC14856
1972155ShibpurGENMrigendra MukherjeeMINC31109Kanai Lal BhattacharyaMFBL24941
1971155ShibpurGENHarisadhan MitraMCPM17240Kanai Lal BhattacharyaMFBL13491
1967155ShibpurGENM . BanerjeeMINC19617K . BhattacharyaMFBL18312

Last Updated on May 13, 2016

Track your constituency