Track your constituency

Maheshtala (West Bengal) Assembly Constituency Elections 2018

Elections Latest News And Updates

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: BSP announces candidates for 6 Chhattisgarh Seats

The candidates were announced for Bastar, Kanker, Raigarh, Durg, Surguja, and Janjgir Champa. The last of these six seats — an SC reserved seat — is where the BSP is Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 BJP trying to create ‘hyper nationalistic environment’ ahead of Lok Sabha Elections: Rahul Gandhi

Congress president Rahul Gandhi has accused the BJP of trying to create a ‘hyper nationalistic environment’ ahead of the Lok Sabha Elections only to distract people from the issues of Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Mamata Releases TMC List for all 42 West Bengal Seats

West Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee on Tuesday announced a list of TMC candidates for all the 42 Lok Sabha seats of the state, dropping 10 sitting MPs. She also attacked the BJP and the Read More…

Lok Sabha Election 2019 Lok Sabha Election 2019: Priya Dutt, Raj Babbar Feature in Congress 2nd List

The Congress released its second list of 21 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections 2019 on Wednesday. The grand old party fielded its Uttar Pradesh chief Raj Babbar from Moradabad, Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Congress Releases First List of Candidates

Congress has put out its first list of candidates for the Lok Sabha elections, with party chief Rahul Gandhi contesting his bastion Amethi and UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi contesting from Read More…

upcoming Lok Sabha elections 2019 Samajwadi Party Releases First List of Candidates for Lok Sabha Elections 2019

There is no denying the fact that the road to the treasury bench of the lower house of the Parliament goes through Uttar Pradesh. The BJP-led coalition won 73 seats Read More…

Maheshtala By-Election Result Live

Winning PartyCandidate Name

List of candidates for Maheshtala Constituency By-Election 2018

1DULAL CHANDRA DASAll India Trinamool Congress
2PRAVAT CHOWDHURYCommunist Party of India (Marxist)
3SUJIT KUMAR GHOSHBharatiya Janata Party

No query found

About Maheshtala Assembly Constituency

Maheshtala is a constituency of West Bengal legislative assembly. It is constituency No. 155 situated in South 24 Parganas district. It is a part of Lok Sabha constituency No. 21, which is Diamond Harbour. Maheshtala is an unreserved constituency.

According to the Election Commission of India, there are 2,14,985 registered voters in this constituency. Out of this, 1,11,531 are male and 1,03,454 are female voters.

Eight candidates, including six male and two female, contested from this seat in the 2011 assembly elections. Kasturi Das of Trinamool Congress won this seat. The runner-up was Sk.Md. Israil of CPI(M). Das won by a margin of 24,283 votes. This was an important win because Maheshtala had been a CPI(M) stronghold for a long period of time. The voter turnout was 81.73%.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Maheshtala Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Maheshtala assembly elections conducted so far.

YearA C No.Constituency NameCategoryWinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
2011155MaheshtalaGENKasturi DasFAITC92211Sk.Md.IsrailMCPM67928
2006115MaheshtalaGENMursalin MollaMCPI(M)65691Dulal DasMINC37835
2001115MaheshtalaGENMursalin MollaMCPM72425Biman BanerjeeMAITC60209
1996115MaheshtalaGENMursalin MollaMCPM72274Gouranga MukherjeeMINC58463
1991115MaheshtalaGENAbdul BasarMCPM52636Malay ChowdhuryMINC32817
1987115MaheshtalaGENAbul BasarMCPM51213Habibur RahmanMINC39428
1982115MaheshtalaGENMir Abdus SayeedMCPM40523Dilip GhoseMIND23647
1979By PollsMaheshtalaGENM.A.SayeedMCPM45259S.NaskarMINC(I)11760
1977115MaheshtalaGENSudhir BhandariMCPM27256Mali SafiuddinMJNP10124
1972105MaheshtalaGENBhupen BijaliMINC33412Sudhir BhandariMCPM25581
1971105MaheshtalaGENSudhir Chandra BhandariMCPM24152Bhupen BijaiMINC22785
1969105MaheshtalaGENSudhir Chandra BhandariMCPM28367Bhupendra Nath BijaliMINC18214
1962107MaheshtalaGENAhammad Ali MuftiMINC24498Sudhir Chandra BhandariMCPI15420
1957156MaheshtalaGENSudhir Chandra BhandariMCPI14091Narul Haque MaliMINC11896

Last Updated on May 13, 2016