Who will WIN Phase 1 of Chhattisgarh Assembly Election 2018?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp
News at a Glance

Kalimpong (West Bengal) Assembly Constituency Elections 2018

Winner and Runnerup Candidate in Kalimpong assembly constituency

The table below shows the Winner and Runnerup candidate form the Kalimpong Assembly Constituency. The party symbol is also shown along.

Winner Candidate -
Sarita Rai (won by:11431 )
Political Party -

Kalimpong Election Results 2016

Table showing the winning and the runner-up Candidate of the 2016 Vidhan Sabha Election in Kalimpong Assembly

YearPartySymbolstatusCandidate Namevotes
2016 IND RunnerUpHarka Bahadur Chettri 56262
2016 GJM WinnerSarita Rai 67693

List of candidates for Kalimpong Constituency 2016

The table below shows the contesting candidates of AITMC, BJP, CPI(M), Congress, CPI, Independent etc. from the Kalimpong Assembly Constituency in the West bengal Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Elections 2016.

Kalimpong , Constituency No -(22)
Election Date04/17/16 
Result Date05/19/16 
Election Symbol Political PartyCandidate Name
INDINDKishore Pradhan
INDINDBhrigu Nath Gupta
IND IND Harka Bahadur Chettri
GRCGRCAmar Loksom
GJM  GJM Sarita Rai

About Kalimpong Legislative Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Constituency

Kalimpong is one of the 294 legislative assembly segments of West Bengal. It is located in the Darjeeling district and a part of the
Darjeeling Lok Sabha (parliamentary) constituency. The Kalimpong legislative assembly segment accommodates a total of 1,81,892 people who hold the right to vote as per the universal adult franchise. Amongst all the voters in the constituency, there are 92,725 men and 89,167 women. The Delimitation Commission of India recommended in 2008 that Kalimpong would comprise Kalimpong-I, Kalimpong-II and Gorubathan community development blocks and Kalimpong Municipal Corporation.

The Kalimpong seat of the West Bengal state legislative assembly is currently held by Dr. Harka Bahadur Chettri of GOJAM, who won the seat with an overwhelming number of 1,09,102 votes. He defeated his nearest rival Prakash Dahal of GNLF by a mind-boggling margin of 1,01,675 votes.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Kalimpong Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Kalimpong assembly elections conducted so far.

YearA C No.Constituency NameCategoryWinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
201122KalimpongGENDr. Harka Bahadur ChettriMGOJAM109102Prakash DahalMGNLF7427
200622KalimpongGENGaulan LepchaMGNLF57854Norden LamaMIND32043
200122KalimpongGENGoulan LepchaMGNLF51983Norden LamaMIND26979
199622KalimpongGENGaulan LepchaMGNLF50362Norden LamaMABGL17121
199122KalimpongGENNima Tshering MoktanMIND48332Mohan Singh Rai (Dukhun)MCPI16406
198722KalimpongGENMohansing RaiMCPI964Tashi Tshering LepchaMINC77
198222KalimpongGENRenu Leena SubbaFIND15154Badrinayaran PradhanMIND5960
197722KalimpongGENSubha RenuleenaFIND13983Gurung GajendraMINC9045
197220KalimpongGENGajendra GurungMINC10190Prithiwinath DikshitMIGL8806
197120KalimpongGENMadan Kumar ProdhanMIGL10810Padma Lakshmi SubbaMIND7388
196920KalimpongGENP . L . SubbaMIGL15418K . B . GurungMINC11120
196217KalimpongGENLakshmi Ranjan JosseMGL12809Narbahadur GurungMINC7942
19571KalimpongGENNarbahadur GurungMIND6137M. K. PradhanMIND4196
1952By PollsKalimpongGENG. NarbahadurMIND8324M. BholanathMCOM1048
19511KalimpongGENLalit Bahadur KhargaMCPI7422Gajendra Sinha BhandariMINC4975

Last Updated on May 13, 2016

Track your constituency