Which state goes to assembly elections 2018 next?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp
News at a Glance

Baranagar (West Bengal) Assembly Constituency Elections 2018

Winner and Runnerup Candidate in Baranagar assembly constituency

The table below shows the Winner and Runnerup candidate form the Baranagar Assembly Constituency. The party symbol is also shown along.

Winner Candidate -
Tapas Roy (won by:16100)
Political Party -

Baranagar Election Results 2016

Table showing the winning and the runner-up Candidate of the 2016 Vidhan Sabha Election in Baranagar Assembly

YearPartySymbolstatusCandidate Namevotes
2016 AITC WinnerTapas Roy 76531
2016 RSP RunnerUpSukumar Ghosh 60431

List of candidates for Baranagar Constituency 2016

The table below shows the contesting candidates of AITMC, BJP, CPI(M), Congress, CPI, Independent etc. from the Baranagar Assembly Constituency in the West bengal Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Elections 2016.

Baranagar , Constituency No -(113)
Election Date04/25/16 
Result Date05/19/16 
Election Symbol Political PartyCandidate Name
RSP RSP Sukumar Ghosh
RAJSPRAJSPPrabir Chatterjee

About Baranagar Assembly Constituency

Baranagar is constituency No. 113 of West Bengal legislative assembly. This constituency is situated in North 24 Parganas district. It is part of Lok Sabha constituency No. 16, Dumdum. It is an unreserved constituency.

According to data with the Election Commission of India, Baranagar has 1,86,723 registered voters. It has 95,807 male, and 90,916 female voters.

The Trinamool Congress (TMC) made a clean sweep in the 2011 West Bengal assembly elections. It also scored its maiden victory in Baranagar seat. The Baranagar constituency had been with the Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP) for seven consecutive terms and with the CPI(M) for another seven terms preceding that. The TMC finally made inroads into this constituency in 2011. Tapas Roy of Trinamool Congress bagged 89,883 votes and defeated his nearest contender, Sukumar Ghosh of RSP, by a margin of 36,828 votes. The voter turnout was 79.48%.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Baranagar Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Baranagar assembly elections conducted so far.

YearA C No.Constituency NameCategoryWinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
201147BaranagarGENTapas RoyMAITC89883Sukumar GhoshMRSP53055
2006137BaranagarGENAmar ChowdhuryMRSP85584Atin GhoshMAITC67428
2001137BaranagarGENAmar ChaudhuriMRSP85647Atin GhoshMAITC83106
1996137BaranagarGENAmar ChoudhuryMRSP84785Silbhadra DuttaMINC76895
1991137BaranagarGENMatish RoyMRSP66397Ajoy GhosalMINC54925
1987137BaranagarGENMatish RoyMRSP61456Pranab Kanti GhoshMINC54277
1982137BaranagarGENMatish RoyMRSP59985Sambhu Nath DuttaMINC41581
1977137BaranagarGENMatish RayMRSP33384Kumud BhattacharjeeMINC16798
1972126BaranagarGENShiba Pada BhattacharjeeMCPI69145Jyoti BasuMCPM30158
1971126BaranagarGENJoyti BasuMCPM43340Ajoy Kumar MukhopadhyaMBAC32287
1969126BaranagarGENJyoti BasuMCPM45261A.N. BhattacharjeeMINC27669
1967126BaranagarGENJ. BasuMCPM31354N. BhatacharjeeMINC27895
196278BaranagarGENJyoti BasuMCPI40830Dhirendra Nath ChattopadhyayMINC27418
1957179BaranagarGENJyoti BoseMCPI28269Kanailall DholeMINC18852
1951150Baranagar(SC)Jyoti BasuMCPI13968Rai Harendra Nath ChowdhuryMINC8539

Last Updated on May 13, 2016

Track your constituency