Who Will Form the Next Govenment in Telangana?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp

Mainpuri Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2014

Uttar Pradesh infographics banner

Mainpuri Latest News And Updates

September 16, 2014 12:16 PM
SP Candidate leading in the Mainpuri parliamentary constituency.  ..... Read More
September 13, 2014 04:22 PM
Balloting for one Lok Sabha and 11 assembly constituencies saw a moderate turnout by Saturday afternoon even as supporters of rival parties clashed ..... Read More
September 13, 2014 10:14 AM
Voting began on a brisk note Saturday in the Uttar Pradesh bypolls to the 11 assembly and one parliamentary seat. While balloting was slow owin..... Read More
April 24, 2014 07:04 PM
Minor incidents like scuffles, stone pelting and firing blanks were reported from polling booths in Uttar Pradesh as 12 Lok Sabha constituencies wen..... Read More
April 24, 2014 07:54 AM
Voting for 12 Lok Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh has begun, officials said. This is the third round of polling in the state. Uttar Pradesh has the lar..... Read More

Mainpuri Bye Elections

As announced by the Election Commission (EC) of India, the by-elections in the Mainpuri parliamentary constituency will be held on September 13. Mulayam Singh Yadav of Samajwadi Party won the 2014 General Elections from the constituency for the third consecutive time. But at the same time Yadav also won the elections from Azamgarh constituency. On May 26, he resigned from Mainpuri and retained the Azamgarh seat. So Mainpuri will go for by-polls.

BJP and Samajwadi Party are the main contenders in these by-polls. BSP has decided to stay away from the elections. This will help BJP get Dalit votes. Congress, on the other hand is not a threat to any party.

Formed prior to the elections of 1952, the parliamentary constituency of Mainpuri is one of the 80 Lok Sabha constituencies of the state of Uttar Pradesh. According to Election Commission of India 2009 data the total electorates in the Mainpuri
Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 21) were 1,399,259 of which 621,365 are females and 777,894 are males. It has five Vidhan Sabha segments with one of being reserved for the SC category. It represents the Mainpuri District which is a part of the Agra Division. The district has three tehsils covering a total area of 2,745 sq km and Mainpuri City is the center of administration. Hindi is the official language of the area.

The census data of 2011 states that Mainpuri District is the 255th most populated district of the country with a total population of 1,868,529 of which 53% comprises of males and 47% comprises of females. With a sex ratio of 868 females per 1000 males, it has a child population of 15.22%. The average literacy rate is 76%, with male literacy being 84.53% and female literacy rate being 66.30%. The district has a population density of 677 inhabitants per sq km and the population growth rate from 2001 to 2011 was 17.02%. Agriculture is the most important economic activity of the area. Several State Highways of Uttar Pradesh pass through here.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Mainpuri Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Mainpuri parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Mainpuri constituency is Shri Mulayam Singh Yadav of SP.

YearPC No.PC NameCategoryWinner/Current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201421MainpuriGENMulayam Singh YadavMSP595918Shatrughan Singh ChauhanMBJP231252
200921MainpuriGENYadav,Shri Mulayam Singh MSP392308Vinay ShakyaMBSP219239
200465MainpuriGENMulayam Singh YadavMSP460470Ashok ShakyaMBSP122600
2004Bye PolMainpuriGENDharmendra Yadav MSP348999Ashok Shakya MBSP169286
199969MainpuriGENBalram Singh YadavMSP244113Darshan Singh YadavMBJP216087
199869MainpuriGENBalram Singh YadavMSP264734Ashok YadavMBJP254368
199669MainpuriGENMulayam Singh YadavMSP273303Updesh Singh ChauhanMBJP221345
199169MainpuriGENUdai Pratap SinghMJP126463Ram Naresh AgnihotriMBJP114298
198969MainpuriGENUdai Pratap SinghMJD239660Krishna Chandra YadavMINC155369
198469MainpuriGENBalram Singh YadavMINC214322Ravindra Singh ChauhanMLKD159314
198069MainpuriGENRaghunath Singh VermaMJNP(S)167344Sheo Baksh Singh RathoreMINC(U)84128
197769MainpuriGENRaghunath Singh VermaMBLD289426Maharaj SinghMINC64304
197169MainpuriGENMaharaj SinghMINC102981Badshah Gupta MNCO33618
196769MainpuriGENM. SinghMINC74952P.S. Chauhan MBJS44864
195727MainpuriGENBansi Das DhangarMPSP59902BadshahMINC56072

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about current sitting MP of Mainpuri Constituency

Name of MP Shri Tejpratap Singh Yadav
Age 31
Nature of Membership Elected
Term 16/09/2014 to In office
Political Party Samajwadi Party
Gender Male
Educational Qualification Post Graduate
Activities of Shri Tejpratap Singh Yadav in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 6
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 78
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Mainpuri Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Mainpuri parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
MainpuriBhongaonKishni (SC)

Last Updated on February 24, 2015

Track your constituency