Track your constituency

Madurai Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

Live Election News

Once upon a time, Bengaluru was called City of Lakes, now most of the lakes are polluted, being encroached upon: P C @PCMohanMP while discussion on Motion of Thanks on Read More…

Congress leader in Lok Sabha, Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury: Did you manage to catch anybody in 2G & coal allocation scam? Did you manage to send Sonia Gandhi ji & Rahul Read More…

Don’t know how long Congress-JD(S) govt in Karnataka will survive: Deve Gowda  

Latest Election News and Update

Results Live Updates 2019 Lok Sabha (General) Election Results 2019 – Live Updates

Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 Live Updates   Exit Poll by Various Pollsters – Click Here Check Live Election Results 2019 – State Wise & Constituency Wise   21:09:15 केंद्रीय Read More…


When we set out on the 2019 journey, the scenario was quite fuzzy. The opposition parties were resurgent after the 2018 Assembly Elections. Congress was brimming over with confidence, and Read More…

Exit Poll 2019 Lok Sabha Election Exit Poll 2019 Live Updates

Lok Sabha Election Exit Poll 2019 – Live Updates The mega 7-phase Lok Sabha elections are just a few hours away from conclusion with the voting in last phase scheduled Read More…

Phase 7 Live Updates Lok Sabha Elections 2019 – Seventh Phase Live Updates

  Previous Phases Live Voter Turnout 2014 vs 2019 – Assembly Constituency Wise Phase 5 | Phase 6 |  Phase 7 Live Voter Turnout 2014 vs 2019  |  Phase 7 Read More…

Phase 7 Live Voter Turnout Phase 7 Live Voter Turnout – 2014 vs 2019 – Segement Wise

Seventh Phase Live Voter Turnout – 2014 vs 2019   Previous Phases Voter Tunrout –  Phase 5 | Phase 6 |   Total Turnout – Phase 7 – 65.06%   Read More…

Phase 7 Opinion Poll WILL BJP CREATE HISTORY AND BEAT THE 300 MARK? – Phase 7 Opinion Poll

PHASE 7 LIVE UDPATES – CLICK HERE    When we gave out our first opinion poll before the start of the Elections 2019, we had projected 271 seats for BJP. Read More…

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Madurai Parliamentary Constituency is one of the 39 parliamentary constituencies of Tamil Nadu state and it has 1,022,421 electors. It was formed in the year 1952 and has six Vidhan Sabha segments. The total number of electorates in the Madurai Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 31) according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports are 1,022,421 of which 511,131 are males and 511,290 are females. It represents the district of Madurai which has its headquarters located in the city of Madurai. The district has thirteen talukas and covers a total area of 3,710 sq km and lies at an average elevation of 101 m.

As per 2011 census, the total population housed by the Madurai District is 3,038,252 of which 1,526,475 are males and 1,511,777 are females. The population growth rate was 17.84% between 2001 and 2011 and the population density here is 819 people per sq km. Of the total population, 313,878 are below the age of six and the sex ratio is 990 females per 1000 males. The average literacy rate of Madurai is 83.45% of which male and female literacy rates are 89.72% and 77.16%. The official language is Tamil. Tourism is the primary economic activity here and several religious sites are located here. Madurai is connected to nearby areas by the National Highways, NH-7, NH-45B, NH-49 and NH-85.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Madurai Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Madurai parliamentary constituency of all the years fromthe starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Madurai constituency is Shri R.Gopalakrishnan of AIADMK.

YearPC No.PC NameCategoryWinner/Current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201432MaduraiGENR.GopalakrishnanMAIADMK454167V VelusamyMDMK256731
200932MaduraiGENAlagiri,Shri M. K. MDMK431295Mohan P MCPM290310
200424MaduraiGENMohan, P.MCPM414433Bose, A K.MADMK281593
199924MaduraiGENMohan, P.MCPM328204Muthuramalingam, Pon.MDMK290981
199824MaduraiGENSubramanian SwamyMJP266202Rambabu.A.G.S.MTMC(M)245305
199624MaduraiGENRam Babu A.G.SMTMC(M)334055Subramanian SwamyMJD144249
199124MaduraiGENRam Babu A.G.S.MINC425769Mohan P.MCPM183609
198924MaduraiGENA.G.S. Ram BabuMINC456442V.VelusamyMDMK242664
198424MaduraiGENSubburaman A.G.MINC365948Sankariah N.MCPM192937
198024MaduraiGENSubburaman A.G.MINC(I)292380Balassubramanyam A.MCPM223185
197724MaduraiGENSwaminathan R.V.MINC299309Ramamurthi P.MCPM164964
197124MaduraiGENR. V. SwaminathanMINC227060S. Chinna Karuppa ThevarMNCO154701

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about current sitting MP of Madurai Constituency

Name of MP Shri R.Gopalakrishnan
Age 50
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
Gender Male
Educational Qualification B.Com.
Activities of Shri R.Gopalakrishnan in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 21
Private member bills passed 1
Questions asked 352
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Madurai Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Madurai parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Madurai North Madurai West Madurai Central
Madurai East Madurai South Melur

Last Updated on June 14, 2019