Who will Win Gujarat Assembly Elections 2017?

Presidential Election 2017

President Pranab Mukherjee's term will end on 24 July 2017. Therefore, the process to elect the new president will need to be completed before the expiration of Mukherjee's term. According to the law, the notification for the election of the President needs to be issued on or after the sixtieth day before the completion of the term of the outgoing president. The President of India is selected through an electoral college comprising national and state lawmakers.

Presidential election 2017 Date

The Presidential election will be held on 17 July 2017. the counting of votes will take place on 20 July 2017. This is five days before President Pranab Mukherjee's terms expires.

Presidential election 2017 Candidates

There are several names that are being considered for the post of the president. Those being considered from the NDA are current Speaker of the Lok Sabha Sumitra Mahajan, Governor of Jharkhand Draupadi Murmu, BJP stalwart LK Advani, Senior BJP leader Murli Manohar Joshi, and External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj from the NDA.

Opposition names include grandson of Mahatma Gandhi and former Governor of West Bengal, five-time Member of Parliament Meira Kumar, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) chief Sharad Pawar, and Sharad Yadav from the Janata Dal.

Eligibility Criteria for President of India

To be eligible for the President's office, a person should be a citizen of India and 35 years of age and above. He or she should be qualified to become a member of the Lok Sabha. In case a person is holding any office of profit under the Union or any state government or under any local or other authority that is subject to the control of any state government, then he or she will not be eligible for election as President.

Presidential election 2012 result summary

On 19 July 2012, the 14th indirect presidential elections were held. The elections were held to elect the 13th president of India. The votes were counted on 22 July. Finance Minister Pranab Mukherjee and Speaker of the Lok Sabha PA Sangma were the leading candidates for the post of the president. Pranab Mukherjee was declared the winner on 22 July and was sworn in as president on 25 July.

Last Updated on Jun 14, 2017

Track your constituency