Home » Political-Corner  » Madhya Pradesh, Mizoram Assembly Election 2018 LIVE Updates: 74.61% voter turnout in MP, 75% in Mizoram as polling ends

Madhya Pradesh, Mizoram Assembly Election 2018 LIVE Updates: 74.61% voter turnout in MP, 75% in Mizoram as polling ends

Posted by Admin on November 28, 2018 | Comment

Madhya Pradesh, Mizoram Assembly Election

Madhya Pradesh (MP), Mizoram Assembly Election 2018 live updates: Voting for the state Assembly elections ended in Madhya Pradesh and Mizoram Wednesday evening. For the 230-member Madhya Pradesh assembly, it is largely a two-way contest between the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Congress. BJP, a party that has been in power for 15 years and battling anti-incumbency, will be looking for a fourth term in a row while the Congress is hoping to cause an upset. Polling will begin at 8 am till 5 pm in 227 seats, while in three Assembly segments of Lanji, Paraswada and Baihar in the Naxal-affected Balaghat district, the voting time is between 7 am to 3 pm.

Polling for the state Assembly elections in Madhya Pradesh ended at 5 pm as per the schedule and 74.61% voter turnout recorded. Three employees died due to health reasons while performing their poll duties across Madhya Pradesh. Election Commission announces Rs 10 lakh each compensation for the kin of poll officials who passed away while on election duty due to cardiac arrest.

 In Mizoram, the ruling Congress party will be eyeing a third consecutive term, the party has been in power in the state since 2008. The Congress and the main Opposition, the MNF, have fielded 40 candidates each, while the BJP is contesting in 39 seats for the 40-member Assembly. Other than the Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), a lot of other smaller parties are also fighting on almost all 40 assembly seats in Mizoram. They include the main opposition Mizo National Front (MNF), People’s Representation for Identity and Status of Mizoram (PRISM), Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) and Meghalaya-based National People’s Party (NPP).

The voting process began at 7 am, amid tight security, and would continue till 4 pm, Chief Electoral Officer Ashish Kundra said. Borders with neighbouring countries — Myanmar and Bangladesh, and states — Tripura, Assam and Manipur, have been sealed in view of the polls. About 71 per cent votes were cast at the end of polling in Mizoram.

The results will be declared on December 11 along with three other states.