Home » Political-Corner  » Chhattisgarh assembly Elections – 1st phase polling 2018 – BJP vs Congress

Chhattisgarh assembly Elections – 1st phase polling 2018 – BJP vs Congress

Posted by Admin on November 12, 2018 | Comment

Chhattisgarh Assembly Elections 2o18

Voting for 10 out of the 18 constituencies has started. As per the Election commission notification, earlier voting in these 10 constituencies will be conducted from 7 am to 3 pm, while the rest of the constituencies will go to polls from 8 am to 5 pm. It is important to understand that these elections in five states have very strong symbolic relevance before upcoming Lok Sabha elections in 2019.

In 2013 Chhattisgarh state elections congress was pretty dominant on these 18 seats and won 12 seats out of 18 and on the other hand, BJP just won 6. 

Summary 2013 Results
Total Seats 18
Congress 12

But we have observed that both the parties have changed more than 50% of their candidates on these seats if we compare them to 2013 list. It is very clear that parties don’t want to risk their seats because of the voter’s perception for their candidates. Voters will take some time to perceive fresh faces and will vote for the party rather than candidates. It will be interesting to see if Congress can hold their fort on 12 seats or Modi factor will play its role as in 2013 Modi was not the brand face of election campaigns in state elections. Following phase one of the Chhattisgarh Assembly elections on Monday, the rest of the 72 constituencies will vote on November 20 in second phase.

Three times winnerBhartiya Janata Party government in the state, led by CM Raman Singh, is seeking victory for the fourth time. On the other hand, the Congress is aiming to capitalize the huge anti-incumbency in the state. The third front of former chief minister Ajith Jogi’s Janata Congress Chhattisgarh party in alliance with Mayawati’s Bahujan Samaj Party will also play its role at least in 15-20% of the seats in the state

The Congress has focused on local issues – farm loan waiver and a liquor ban in the state. Party chief Rahul Gandhi has accused Chief Minister Raman Singh and his son of corruption

Here is the list of 2013 winners in these 18 seats

Constituency Winner 2013 Winner Party
Khairagarh GirwarJanghel Indian National Congress (SHS)
Dongargarh SarojaniBanjare Bharatiya Janata Party (CSM)
Rajnandgaon Dr Raman Bharatiya Janata Party (CSM)
Dongargaon DaleshwarSahu Indian National Congress (SHS)
Khujji BholaramSahu Indian National Congress (BSP)
Mohala-manpur Tej Kunwar GowardhanNetam Indian National Congress (GGP)
Antagarh Vikram Usendi Bharatiya Janata Party (INC)
Bhanupratappur Manoj Singh Mandavi Indian National Congress (SHS)
Kanker ShankerDhruwa Indian National Congress (CPM)
Keshkal SantramNetam Indian National Congress (IND)
Kondagaon Mohan Markam Indian National Congress (IND)
Narayanpur Kedar Kashyap Bharatiya Janata Party (CSM)
Bastar BaghelLakheshwar Indian National Congress (BHDC)
Jagdalpur Santosh Bafna Bharatiya Janata Party (IND)
Chitrakot Deepak Kumar Baij Indian National Congress (SHS)
Dantewara Devati Karma Indian National Congress (IND)
Bijapur Mahesh Gagda Bharatiya Janata Party (IND)
Konta KawasiLakhma Indian National Congress

All eighteen constituencies are in the Maoist-hit areas of Chhattisgarh and are under heavy security cover. Let’s wait and watch for 11th December for results to come out and look for voter’s verdict.