Elections.in Whatsapp Join Us on Whatsapp
News at a Glance
Karnataka Election Result 2018

Election News and Updates

Search News By Date
Search News By State

Latest Election News and Updates

  • Bypoll Results 2016: Crucial Victory for BJP in MP, Assam, Arunachal; TMC Wins in Bengal, AIADMK in TN

    Results of the bypolls held in the four Lok Sabha seats and nine Assembly seats spanning six states and one union territory were declared today. The BJP has won in both Shahdol Lok Sabha seat and Nepanagar Assembly seat in Madhya Pradesh. It has also won the Lakhimpur Lok Sabha seat and Baithalangso assembly seat in Assam. Its North East Democratic Alliance (NEDA) candidate Dasanglu Pul has won Hayuliang assembly seat in Arunachal. In West Bengal, the Trinamool Congress (TMC) has managed to retain Tamluk and Cooch Behar Lok Sabha seats as well as Monteswar Vidhan Sabha seat. Congress candidate and Puducherry chief minister V. Narayansamy has won from Nellithope assembly seat in Puducherry. The AIADMK has swept all the three assembly seats in Tamil Nadu. The bypoll results is being followed closely to assess how voters have responded to the BJP's step to demonetise old banknotes. The BJP faced voters for the first time weeks after announcing demonetisation earlier this month.

    2016-11-22 05:42:53 PM
  • Bypoll Results 2016: AIADMK Leading in Tamil Nadu

    The AIADMK is leading in Aravakurichi and Thirupurakundram assembly constituencies. In Thanjavur, AIADMK candidate M. Rengasamy has defeated his nearest rival from DMK by more than 26,000 votes. After five rounds of counting, AIADMK candidate in Aravakuruchi Senthil Balaji is leading his DMK rival by 7,756 votes. In Thiruparakundram, the AIADMK lead so far is 39,942 votes as against DMK’s 28,370.

    2016-11-22 12:43:53 PM
  • Bypolls 2016: BJP Wins Nepanagar Seat in Madhya Pradesh, Leading in Assam

    Counting of votes cast in the bypolls held on 19 Novemer, 2016 is underway and the BJP appears to be leading in both Assam and Madhya Pradesh. BJP candidate Manju Dadu has won the Nepanagar assembly seat in Madhya Pradesh by more than 40,000 votes. The BJP has a commanding majority in the Madhya Pradesh state assembly. It also holds 27 of the state's 29 seats in the Lok Sabha. It needs to retain both the seats that went to bypolls in order to prove that people support the party's move to ban old notes.

    2016-11-22 12:16:28 PM
  • Puducherry CM Narayansamy Wins Nellithope Assembly Seat

    Congress member and Puducherry Chief Minister V. Narayanasamy has won the Nellithope assembly seat in the union territory. He faced a stiff competition from the AIADMK in the bypolling that was held on 19 November, 2016. Narayanasamy is a Lok Sabha MP. He was required to become member of the Puducherry legislative assembly within six months of being sworn in as the chief minister of the union territory. He was appointed the chief minister after the Congress managed to win the Puducherry assembly elections held earlier this year.

    2016-11-22 11:53:01 AM
  • Bypoll Results: CPI(M) Wins Both Assembly Seats in Tripura

    The CPI(M) has managed to win both Barjala and Khowai assembly seats in the bypolls held on 19 November, 2016. Polling for these two scheduled caste reserved seats took place amid tight security. The Barjala seat fell vacant after the resignation of Congress MLA Jitendra Sarkar following an internal feud. The Khowai seat had fallen vacant due to the death of senior CPI(M) legislator Samir Deb Sarkar.

    2016-11-22 11:26:15 AM

  • Bypoll Results To Be Out Today; First Test for BJP's Demonetisation Move

    Results of the bypolls held in Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Tripura and Madhya Padesh besides the union territory of Puducherry are going to be declared today. Held on 19 November, the bypolls were the first to be held after the Narendra Modi-led BJP government at the Centre banned Rs. 500 and 1,000 banknotes to combat black money. The results will be watched closely to see if there would be any impact of that decision. The BJP is fighting to retain its three Lok Sabha seats in Assam and Madhya Padesh.  


    2016-11-22 11:08:25 AM
  • Click to Read more News on Election and Politics.

Election and Politics News Capsules

Track your constituency