Elections.in Whatsapp Join Us on Whatsapp
News at a Glance

Election News and Updates

Search News By Date
Search News By State

Latest Election News and Updates

  • Voting for Chennai's RK Nagar ByPoll concludes

    Voting for Chennai's RK Nagar ByPoll concludes.  The election was the first election since the death of former Chief Minister Jayalalithaa. As many as 59 candidates contested. The by-poll is mainly seen as a fight between the ruling AIADMK, its rival faction led by TTV Dhinakaran and main opposition party DMK.  

    2017-12-21 06:38:10 PM
  • Sabang Recorded 74.89 Percent Voter Turnout till 3 Pm
    According to the Election Commission sources 74.89 per cent votes were recorded till 3 PM. The EC also mentioned that the election was by and large peaceful and it is looking into complaints by the opposition parties.
    2017-12-21 05:59:39 PM
  • RK Nagar By-Election: Poll percentage at 3:00 PM
    The voting percentage recorded for the RK Nagar by-polls at 3:00 pm was 59.24%. Three polling centers recorded voting percentage of over 90. The electorate strength of the constituency is 2,28,234,  comprising 1,10,903 men, 1,17,232 women and 99 transgenders. 
    2017-12-21 05:16:22 PM
  • RK Nagar By-Election
    The RK Nagar by-election which is being seen as an acid test for the ruling AIADMK, as it is the first election since the death of former Chief Minister Jayalalithaa.Although as many as 59 candidates are contesting, the RK Nagar by-poll is mainly seen as a fight between the ruling AIADMK, its rival faction led by TTV Dhinakaran and main opposition party DMK. AIADMK candidate E Madhusudhanan, who cast his vote in the morning today, told reporters that "God and Amma's grace is with us". He said that he is confident of a win. 
    2017-12-21 04:29:39 PM
  • Sikandara Assembly Constitency By-Poll : UP
    By election is being held in Uttar Pradesh for Sikandara Assembly seat in Kanpur Dehat district. The constituency seat has been vacant since the demise of BJP MLA Mathura Prasad Pal on 22 July. In the Assembly elections this year, Pal had bagged 87,879 votes, defeating BSP candidate Mahendra Katiyar (Bablu). Ajit Pal Singh is BJP candidate for the by-poll, while Samajwadi Party fielded Seema Sachan and Congress candidate is Prabhakar. BSP is not contesting. The election is expected to be over by 5:00 PM. 
    2017-12-21 04:02:40 PM

  • Dr. Radhakrishnan Nagar Assembly By-pool Voter turn out

    According to the Election Commission, voter turnout was recorded at 57.16% till 3 pm during the RK Nagar Assembly by-poll.

    2017-12-21 03:50:27 PM
  • Sabang Bypoll : West Bengal
    Bypoll in West Bengal’s Sabang which is being held today is going to be a litmus test for both the ruling TMC and the BJP. The voting saw a dull start with just 15 percent of electorates exercising their franchise in the first two hours. The opposition i.e. the BJP and the CPI(M) accused TMC of driving away their election agents from polling booths. The allegation was denied by the ruling party TMC. 
    2017-12-21 03:39:15 PM
  • AIADMK candidate E Madhusudhanan confident of winning the RK Nagar by-poll
    AIADMK candidate E Madhusudhanan is confident of winning the RK Nagar by-poll which is currently underway. E Madhusudhanan is being backed by Chief Minister E Palaniswamy and deputy CM O Panneerselvam. The constituency was vacated after Jayalalithaa’s death last year. Madhusudhanan is contesting against sidelined party leader TTV Dinakaran who is contesting as an Independent candidate.  
    2017-12-21 03:18:22 PM
  • Congress Starts Gujarat Results Analysis
    Gujarat polls might have ended, but the real work, even more, demanding than the campaigning itself, has started now for the Congress. Mere two days after the announcement of Gujarat results, the party has started analyzing the results from all districts of Gujarat. Party president Rahul Gandhi too will join the discussion on coming Saturday, December 23.
    The Congress has shown a significant improvement from the last 2012 elections and even fared well in the rural section of the state.
    Senior Congress leader Shaktisinh Gohil stated that they could have formed the government and they have come a long way since they have reduced the BJP win to a 2-digit seat victory.
    2017-12-21 02:27:19 PM
  • Click to Read more News on Election and Politics.

Election and Politics News Capsules

Track your constituency