News at a Glance
Karnataka Elections

Election News and Updates

Search News By Date
Search News By State

Latest Election News and Updates

  • Cricketer turned politician Navjot Singh Sidhu has been sworn in as a minister in the Captain Amarinder Singh led congress government in Punjab. This put to rest the rumors that he would be given a position of deputy chief minister in the state. Navjot Singh Sidhu was administered the oath of office by the governor V.P. Sindh Badnore. Sidhu had joined congress party in January, just before the assembly elections in Punjab. He won his seat from Amritsar East with 42,000 votes.

    2017-03-16 04:12:13 PM
  • BJP wins floor test in Goa

    The BJP has won the floor test in the Goa Assembly. The BJP government led by Manohar Parrikar and supported by others has secured 22 votes in the house of 40. The congress secured only 16 votes as one of its member abstained from the crucial voting. Manohar Parrikar won the floor test with the help of Goa Forward Party, Maharashtrwadi Gomantak Party, NCP and independents. The special session was called as per the directive of the supreme court.

    2017-03-16 04:11:04 PM
  • UP elections: People reject parties who strongly identify with their vote banks

    The election results of Uttar Pradesh for 2017 show the continuation of a trend of voting a party to form the government with full majority by giving it a clear mandate. . It happened in 2007 when Mayawati formed the government, it happened again in 2012 when Akhilesh Yadav became the chief minister of UP by Yadav and Muslim votes. It was politics of revenge people wanted to teach Mulayam Singh Yadav a lesson in 2007 for the lawlessness in the state and Mayawati for her corrupt regime. But the new governments did nothing on that count instead pampered their own voters. In both these cases the respective governments closely identified with their vote bank, Mayawati with the Dalits and Samajwadi Party with Yadav’s and Muslims. This led to alienation of other sections and the results are for everyone to see.

    2017-03-16 04:10:30 PM
  • Captain Amarinder Singh is the 26th chief minister of Punjab

    Captain amarinder Singh took oath of office and secrecy at Raj Bhawan in Chandigarh today. He is the 26th chief minister of Punjab. Along with him nine other ministers also took oath of the office. Navjot Singh Siddhu gets a berth in the cabinet. The oath of office to captain Amarinder Singh was administered b y Governor V.P Singh Badnore in presence of congress vice president Rahul Gandhi and former prime minister Manmohan Singh

    2017-03-16 04:09:21 PM
  • Delhi MCD elections on April 22; EVMs to be used

    The election commission has announced that the Delhi MCD elections would be held on April 22 and the results would be out on April 25. The filing of the nomination papers for the elections would start from March 27. The election commission has also made it clear that the EVMs would be used to conduct the pole despite reservations of several political parties for the same. Earlier Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal had written to chief secretary to direct the Delhi state Election commission to do away with the EVM voting and use paper ballots instead. Ajay Makan of the congress party had earlier requested Arvind Kejriwal to ensure that paper ballot is used in MCD elections.

    2017-03-16 03:37:57 PM

  • Hectic lobbying for the ministerial berths in Uttarakhand

    The state after Uttar Pradesh where BJP got decisive mandate was Uttarakhand. However, it is still in the process of deciding the chief minister and the cabinet for the hill state. Dehradun mayor and Dharampur legislator Vinod Chamoli is strongly lobbying for a cabinet berth but denies it openly. He says that his work and experience is enough to speak for him. 11 ministers along with the chief minister are likely to form the government. Eight-time MLA Harbans Kapoor is indeed a serious contender for the post of cabinet minister.. He is confident that his experience would come handy and central high command would definitely take that into consideration Ritu Khanduri, daughter of former chief minister BC Khanduri, and Saurabh Bahuguna, son of former CM Vijay Bahuguna, are also strong contenders for a ministerial berth. Vinod Kandari a new face in the BJP but is also a claimant. He is a former ABVP activist and close RSS. Rajesh Shukla who defeated Harish Rawat from Kichha and Yatishwaranand who defeated the CM from Haridwar rural are also pitching for the minsterial berth. Who actually gets the place in the cabinet is something only time can tell.

    2017-03-16 03:21:37 PM
  • Manohar Parrikar is the new Goa CM

    Manohar Parrikar is the new chief minister of Goa. He took the oath of office and secrecy on Tuesday. Earlier Parrikar resigned as Union Defence Minister to take the office of chief minister. His oath ceremony was witnessed by BJP national president Amit Shah, Union Ministers Venkaiah Naidu, Nitin Gadkari, J.P. Nadda and many other BJP leaders. Along with Parrikar nine more ministers took oath as Goa cabinet ministers. Sudin Dhavalikar and Manohar Azgaonkar, (Maharashtrawdi Gomantak Party), Vijai Sardesai, Vinod Palienkar and Jayesh Salgaonkar, (Goa Forward), Francis D'Souza, Pandurang Madkaikar ( BJP) and Independent Govind Gawde and Rohan Khaunte are the new faces of Goa cabinet. Manohar Parrikar is an IIT graduate who is the chief minister of Goa for the fourth time.

    2017-03-16 03:20:52 PM
  • Click to Read more News on Election and Politics.

Election and Politics News Capsules

Track your constituency