Elections.in Whatsapp Join Us on Whatsapp
News at a Glance
Karnataka Election Result 2018

Election News and Updates

Search News By Date
Search News By State

Latest Election News and Updates

  • Elections in Five Poll-Bound States Between Feb 4 and Mar 8; Counting of Votes on Mar 11

    Elections will be held in the five states of Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Goa, Punjab and Manipur in one go between February and March this year, this was announced by Chief Election Commissioner Nasim Zaidi at a press conference today. Goa and Punjab will be the first to go to elections on February 4. Uttarakhand will go to polls on February 15. Manipur will go to elections in two phases on February 4 and March 8. Uttar Pradesh will go to elections in seven phases between February 11 and March 8. Counting of votes  will take place on March 11. Zaidi told the media that some 160 million voters will be casting their votes from  1.85 lakh polling stations. There will be complete accountability, colourful voter guides, voter assistance booths, all women-managed and disabled-friendly polling stations. Electoral rolls will be published for Goa and Punjab on January 5, Uttarakhand on January 10, Manipur and Uttar Pradesh on January 12.

    2017-01-04 12:46:54 PM
  • 87 Dalits, 97 Muslims, 106 OBCs and 113 Upper Castes in Mayawati's UP Candidate List

    A day after the Supreme Court restrained all political parties from seeking votes in the name of religion or caste, BSP president Mayawati unveiled her party's candidate list to woo all castes ahead of the Uttar Pradesh assembly elections. While addressing a press conference in the state unit office of the Bahujan Samaj Party, she said that rival parties had alleged that the BSP cares only for Dalits but she wanted to make it clear that her party works on the formula of ‘sarvjan hitay’ and this was reflected in ticket distribution as well. The names will be released after the announcement of poll schedule by the Election Commission (EC). She called upon Muslims constituting 18% of the population to not waste their vote by supporting the Samajwadi Party.

    2017-01-04 12:16:12 PM
  • EC To Announce Assembly Poll Dates For Five States Today

    The Election Commission of India is going to announce the schedule for the five upcoming state assembly elections at noon today. The five states going to polls early this year are Punjab, Goa, Manipur and Uttarakhand besides the politically significant Uttar Pradesh. The model code of conduct will come into effect immediately after the announcement of the poll date, restricting the state and the central government from declaring new sops and schemes. It is being speculated that the Election Commission might defer elections in Manipur due to the ongoing economic blockade by the United Naga Council in the state.

    2017-01-04 10:59:11 AM
  • Click to Read more News on Election and Politics.

Election and Politics News Capsules

Track your constituency