Track your constituency

Mumbai-North Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2014

Elections Latest News And Updates

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 BJP trying to create ‘hyper nationalistic environment’ ahead of Lok Sabha Elections: Rahul Gandhi

Congress president Rahul Gandhi has accused the BJP of trying to create a ‘hyper nationalistic environment’ ahead of the Lok Sabha Elections only to distract people from the issues of Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Mamata Releases TMC List for all 42 West Bengal Seats

West Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee on Tuesday announced a list of TMC candidates for all the 42 Lok Sabha seats of the state, dropping 10 sitting MPs. She also attacked the BJP and the Read More…

Lok Sabha Election 2019 Lok Sabha Election 2019: Priya Dutt, Raj Babbar Feature in Congress 2nd List

The Congress released its second list of 21 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections 2019 on Wednesday. The grand old party fielded its Uttar Pradesh chief Raj Babbar from Moradabad, Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Congress Releases First List of Candidates

Congress has put out its first list of candidates for the Lok Sabha elections, with party chief Rahul Gandhi contesting his bastion Amethi and UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi contesting from Read More…

upcoming Lok Sabha elections 2019 Samajwadi Party Releases First List of Candidates for Lok Sabha Elections 2019

There is no denying the fact that the road to the treasury bench of the lower house of the Parliament goes through Uttar Pradesh. The BJP-led coalition won 73 seats Read More…

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Mamata Banerjee to Kick Off Lok Sabha Election Campaign on Women’s Day

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee will kick off the TMC’s campaign for the Lok Sabha Electios on International Women’s Day on March 8, a party leader said Wednesday. Incidentally, Read More…

The Lok Sabha Constituency of Mumbai North is one of the 48 parliamentary constituencies of Maharashtra, formed prior to the 1951 elections. The total number of electorates in the Mumbai North Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 26) according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports are 1,608,924 of which 878,801 are males and 730,123 are females. It has six Vidhan Sabha segments and it is one of the six parliamentary constituencies representing the metropolitan of Mumbai City. Mumbai is the state capital city and also the most densely populated city of India as well as the fourth most populated city of the world. It spans over an area of 4,355 sq km and lies at an elevation of 14 m. It lies on the Western Coastal Plains along the Arabian Sea.

As per the 2011 census, the total population here is 18,414,288 with male and female population being 9,894,088 and 8,520,200. It has an average literacy rate of 90.78% with male literacy rate of 93.85% and female literacy rate of 87.19%. The sex ratio is 861 females per 1000 males and the population density is 20,482 people per sq km. More than fifteen languages are spoken by the people of the city including Marathi, Hindi, English, Urdu and Gujarati. 67.39% of the population is Hindu while several other cultural groups reside here. It is the wealthiest city in India and is also home to the Hindi Film Industry. NH-3, NH-4, NH-8, NH-17 and NH-22 connect it to several major cities of the country.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Mumbai-North Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Mumbai-North parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Mumbai North constituency is Shri Gopal Chinayya Shetty of BJP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201426Mumbai-NorthGENGopal Chinayya ShettyMBJP664004Sanjay Brijkishorlal NirupamMINC217422
200926Mumbai-NorthGENSanjay NirupamMINC255157Ram NaikMBJP249378
20049Mumbai-NorthGENGovindaMINC559763Ram NaikMBJP511492
19999Mumbai-NorthGENRam NaikMBJP517941Chandrakant GosaliaMINC363805
19989Mumbai-NorthGENRam NaikMBJP531417Ram Pandagle JankiramMINC456400
19969Mumbai-NorthGENRam NaikMBJP502738Anupchand Khimchand ShahMINC246478
19919Mumbai-NorthGENRam NaikMBJP304500B.A. DesaiMINC212187
19899Mumbai-NorthGENRam NaikMBJP362787Chandrakant GosaliaMINC262582
19849Mumbai-NorthGENAnoopchand Khimchand ShahMINC275522Ravinder VermaMJNP175398
19809Bombay NorthGENRavindra VarmaMJNP231694Vartak Hari GovindraoMINC(I)167000
19779Bombay NorthGENGore Mrinal KeshavMBLD278246Ridwan HarrisMINC131156
19624Bombay NorthGENV. K. Krishna MenonMINC298427J. B. KripalaniMIND153069
195724Bombay NorthGENKrishna Menon Vengalil Krishnan MINC171708Alvaresh Peter Augustus MPSP123967
195136Bombay NorthGENGandhi Vithal Balkrishna MINC149138Mehta Ashok RanjitramMSP139741
195136Bombay NorthGENKajrolkar Narayan Sadoba MINC138137Ambedkar Bhimrao Ramji MSCF123576

Facts about current sitting MP of Mumbai-North Constituency

Name of MP Shri Gopal Chinayya Shetty
Age 64
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party Bharatiya Janata Party
Gender Male
Educational Qualification Under-Matric
Activities of Shri Gopal Chinayya Shetty in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 118
Private member bills passed 22
Questions asked 374
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Mumbai-North Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Mumbai-North parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Kandivali EastCharkopMalad West

Last Updated on February 24, 2015