Which state goes to assembly elections 2018 next?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp
News at a Glance

Kodungallur (Kerala) Assembly Constituency Elections 2018

Winner and Runnerup Candidate in Kodungallur assembly constituency

The table below shows the Winner and Runnerup candidate form the Kodungallur Assembly Constituency. The party symbol is also shown along.

Winner Candidate -
Adv. R Sunilkumar (won by: 22791 )
Political Party -

Kodungallur Election Results 2016

Table showing the winning and the runner-up Candidate of the 2016 Vidhan Sabha Election in Kodungallur Assembly

YearPartySymbolstatusCandidate Namevotes
2016 INC RunnerUpK P Dhanapalan 45118
2016 CPI WinnerAdv. R Sunilkumar 67909

List of candidates for Kodungallur Constituency 2016

The table below shows the contesting candidates of BSP, BJP, CPI(M), Congress, CPI, IUML, Independent etc. from the Kodungallur Assembly Constituency in the Kerala Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Elections 2016.

Kodungallur , Constituency No -(73)
Election Date05/16/16 
Result Date05/19/16 
Election Symbol Political PartyCandidate Name
BSPBSPP K Subramanian
INC INC K P Dhanapalan
CPI  CPI Adv. R Sunilkumar
INDINDKattu Kandathil Joshy Kumar
INDINDRajan Painat
INDINDAdv.C K Radhakrishnan
SUCI(C)SUCI(C)C S Krishnakumar
Socialist Democratic Party Of IndiaSocialist Democratic Party Of IndiaA K Manaf
BDJSBDJSAdv. Sangeetha Viswanathan

About Kodungallur Assembly Constituency

Kodungallur is constituency No.73 of Kerala legislative assembly. This unreserved assembly seat is situated in Thrissur district. It is part of the Chalakudy Lok Sabha constituency. The Chalakudy Lok Sabha constituency was formed in conformity with the delimitation order of 2008.

According to the Election Commission of India, the constituency of Kodungallur has 1,69,056 registered voters. It comprises 80,962 male and 88,094 female registered voters.

The Indian National Congress won this seat in the 2011 assembly elections. T.N. Prathapan was the party's winning candidate. K.G.Sivanandhan of CPI, who got 55,063 votes, was the nearest contender. With 64,495 votes, Prathapan won by a margin of 9,432 votes. The voter turnout was 76.15 %.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Kodungallur Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Kodungallur assembly elections conducted so far.

YearA C No.Constituency NameCategoryWinnerGenderPartyVotesRunner UpGenderPartyVotes
197767KodungallurGENV. K. Rajan MCPI32159P. V. Abdul KaderMIND24048
198067KodungallurGENV. K. Rajan MCPI35567Kollickatharan RaviMIND33047
198267KodungallurGENV. K. RajaMCPI36404Kollikkathara RaviMIND32970
198767KodungallurGENV. K. RajanMCPI45251K. P. DhanapalanMINC41755
199167KodungallurGENMeenakshy ThampanFCPI53542T.A. Ahammed KabeerMMUL42353
199667KodungallurGENMeenakshy Thamban FCPI51343K.VenuMIND37234
200167KodungallurGENUmesh Challiyil MJPSS59369Prof. Meenakshi ThampanFCPI47428
200667KodungallurGENAdv.K.P.Rajendran MCPI53197Umesh ChalliyilMJPSS50675

Last Updated on May 13, 2016

Track your constituency