Track your constituency

Bangalore South General(Lok Sabha) Elections Results 2019

Elections Latest News And Updates


When we set out on the 2019 journey, the scenario was quite fuzzy. The opposition parties were resurgent after the 2018 Assembly Elections. Congress was brimming over with confidence, and Read More…

Exit Poll 2019 Lok Sabha Election Exit Poll 2019 Live Updates

Lok Sabha Election Exit Poll 2019 – Live Updates The mega 7-phase Lok Sabha elections are just a few hours away from conclusion with the voting in last phase scheduled Read More…

Phase 7 Live Updates Lok Sabha Elections 2019 – Seventh Phase Live Updates

  Previous Phases Live Voter Turnout 2014 vs 2019 – Assembly Constituency Wise Phase 5 | Phase 6 |  Phase 7 Live Voter Turnout 2014 vs 2019  |  Phase 7 Read More…

Phase 7 Live Voter Turnout Phase 7 Live Voter Turnout – 2014 vs 2019 – Segement Wise

Seventh Phase Live Voter Turnout – 2014 vs 2019   Previous Phases Voter Tunrout –  Phase 5 | Phase 6 |   Total Turnout – Phase 7 – 65.06%   Read More…

Phase 7 Opinion Poll WILL BJP CREATE HISTORY AND BEAT THE 300 MARK? – Phase 7 Opinion Poll

PHASE 7 LIVE UDPATES – CLICK HERE    When we gave out our first opinion poll before the start of the Elections 2019, we had projected 271 seats for BJP. Read More…

WILL BENGAL TURN SAFFRON IN 2019 Will Bengal Turn Saffron in 2019?

The year was 2009. Elections to the 15th Lok Sabhā had taken place. CPM led Left Front had been ruling West Bengal since 1977, and nobody had quite figured out Read More…

This southern state of India has 28 parliamentary constituencies. One of these is Bangalore South, which came into existence during the Lok Sabha elections of 1977. The Bangalore South Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 26) consists of 2,031,030 number of electorates in totality, of these 1,071,202 are males and 959,828 are females as the Election commission of India 2009 data suggests. It was formed after the Bangalore Parliamentary constituency was split four smaller constituencies of Bangalore South, Bangalore North, Bangalore Rural and Bangalore Central.

The Bangalore South parliamentary constituency is part of the administrative district of Bangalore called Bangalore Urban. This district has the city of Bangalore as its administrative headquarters, which is the largest city of Karnataka and its capital. The economy of the Bangalore South Parliamentary constituency thrives on a rich and flourishing IT sector, with some of the biggest multinational companies of the world in the city. There are eight Assembly segments in this constituency. One of BJP's most influential leaders, Ananth Kumar has represented this constituency as a Member of Parliament consecutively for five terms, starting from 1996.

Bangalore South Lok Sabha Election Summary

A powerhouse seat of the BJP, the Bangalore South Lok Sabha seat presented a high-profile battle in the 2014 general elections. All eyes were glued on this constituency as the richest candidate this season, Nandan Nilekani fought the elections on a Congress ticket, contesting against five-time MP, Anantha Kumar. Nilekani, co-founder of Infosys Limited, one of the country's IT hubs, took on sitting MP Anantha Kumar, who has represented the seat in the Parliament since 1996. Though AAP fielded child-rights activist Nina Nayak from this constituency, the fight has clearly been focused on Nilekani and Kumar. Anantha Kumar won 633816 votes, emerging winner. He defeated his closest rival Nandan Nilekani by 228575 votes. One of the main agendas of the Congress campaign was 'change'. Nilekani and his wife Rohini had attracted urban voters in the region by focusing on the need to bring in change in the representation of this constituency by a five-time MP. Nilekani, who debuted in the elections this time, held rounds of interactive sessions with Congress leaders and workers in this constituency, as well as with IT techies, who form a bulk of the voters in Bangalore South. The BJP's campaign agenda focused on critiquing the UPA government's Aadhar scheme or the Unique Identification Authority of India (UIDAI), whose chief architect is Nilekani. Nilekani has also been critiqued as an 'outsider' and a 'newcomer'. Nayak's campaigns, on the other hand, rested on issues of national interest such as corruption. For both Nilekani and Kumar, the elections proved a tough challenge against each other, as both the candidates drew considerable support from the population at large. Although Kumar did not suffer anti-incumbency, it is interesting to note, that Kumar's vote-share has significantly declined, as compared to the last general elections in 2009. Nilekani has been able to shrug off the tag of 'newcomer' and 'outsider', by claiming that although he may be new in Bangalore South, he is not new to Bangalore. As the majority of the voters in Bangalore South constituency come from an educated middle-class background, (xxxs)'s victory is clear indication of the faith that the literate voters have attested on him.

Being a seat which has, since 1991, sent non-Congress MPs to the Parliament, the historic win of Anantha Kumar for the sixth time has ensured bright political prospects of BJP party in Bangalore South.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Bangalore South Parliamentary Constituency

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Bangalore South parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Bangalore South constituency is Shri Ananth Kumar of BJP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MPGenderPartyVoteRunner Up MPGenderPartyVote
201426Bangalore SouthGENAnanth Kumar M BJP 633816 Nandan Nilekani M INC 405241
200926Bangalore SouthGENAnanth Kumar,Shri MBJP437953Krishna Byre GowdaMINC400341
200413Bangalore SouthGENAnanth KumarMBJP386682Krishnappa MMINC324411
199913Bangalore SouthGENAnanth KumarMBJP410161B.K.Hari PrasadMINC344107
199813Bangalore SouthGENAnanth KumarMBJP429648D.P.SharmaMINC249601
199613Bangalore SouthGENAnanth KumarMBJP251235Varalakshmi GunduraoMINC229267
199113Bangalore SouthGENK. Venkatgiri GowdaMBJP275083R. Gundu RaoMINC247835
198913Bangalore SouthGENR.Gundu RaoMINC413574M.RaghupathyMJD173720
198413Bangalore SouthGENV. S. Krishna IyerMJNP264765K. Venkatagiri GowdaMINC252033
198013Bangalore SouthGENT.R. ShamannaMJNP198390D.P. SharmaMINC(I)195663
197713Bangalore SouthGENK. S. HegdeMBLD221974K. HanumantaiyaMINC180809

List of Assembly Constituencies in Bangalore South Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Bangalore South parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Govindraj NagarVijay NagarChickpet
BasavanagudiPadmanaba NagarB.T.M. Layout

Last Updated on April 2, 2019