Who will WIN Phase 1 of Chhattisgarh Assembly Election 2018?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp
News at a Glance
Shivamoga - After 4th round of counting, BJP leads over JD(S) by 9,665 votes in Shimoga | Bellary - After Round 8, Congress leads over BJP by 12,88,15 votes in Ballari | Mandya - JD(S) leading by 1,09,066 votes over BJP in Mandya | JD(S) candidate Anita Kumarswamy is leading with 27,998 votes in Ramanagara | Congress candidate is lea

Karnataka Assembly

Karnataka Legislative Assembly

Karnataka has two houses, a lower house, and an upper house. The lower house is the Legislative Assembly (Vidhan Sabha). The upper house is called the Legislative Council (Vidhan Parishad). The assembly is bicameral with 224 seats.
One member is elected by the Governor of the state from the Anglo-Indian community. Each term lasts for 5 years, except if a sitting MLA can no longer hold the position, due to disqualification, death, or other unavoidable circumstances. The by-polls are then conducted to elect new members.

There have been 14 Assembly polls until now for electing the members of the House. Last elections were held on 5 May 2013. 122 seats went to the Indian National Congress, 40 to each of BJP and JD(S). Nine seats were gathered by independent candidates and rest of the 13 seats were won by other parties.

The current speaker of the Assembly is ‎K. B. Koliwad‎, while Deputy Speaker of the House is N H ShivaShankara Reddy. The current CM is Siddaramaiah.
Karnataka election to elect fresh members of Legislative Assembly will be held on May 12, and the result will be declared on May 15.

Last Updated on January 31, 2018

Track your constituency