Which state goes to assembly elections 2018 next?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp
News at a Glance

Ranchi Election Results 2014, Jharkhand

jaharkhand (JH) Infographic

Ranchi News And Updates

December 23, 2014 12:41 PM
The Ranchi assembly constituency now belongs to the BJP. CP Singh of the Bharatiya Janata Party has won the Ranchi assembly seat. Source: News Rep..... Read More
December 09, 2014 08:23 AM
Polling in 17 of the 81 assembly constituencies in the third round of the five-phase elections in Jharkhand started today morning. Voting started a..... Read More

List of candidates for Ranchi Constituency 2014

The table below shows who are the contesting BJP, Congress, independent etc. candidates from the Ranchi Assembly Constituency in the Jharkhand Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Elections 2014.

Ranchi , Constituency No -(63)
Election DateDec 9, 2014 
Result DateDec 23, 2014 
PhasePhase - II 
Election Symbol Political PartyCandidate Name
BSPBSPMahfooz Alam
BJP BJP Chandreshwar Prasad Singh
INCINCSurendra Singh
INDINDKumari Rakhi
INDINDNishant Kumar
INDINDBirendra Kumar Jaiswal
INDINDRajesh Kumar
JMM JMM Mahua Maji
SPSPMd. Sahid
JVM(P)JVM(P)Rajiv Ranjan Mishra
CPI(ML)(L)CPI(ML)(L)Iftekhar Hassan Alias Nadeem Khan
NSMNSMJaved Salim
SP(I)SP(I)Mustak Quraishi
CPI(ML)RCPI(ML)RMohammad Tauseef Ali Ahsan
JVDJVDYugeshwar Marar "Deen"

About Ranchi Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Constituency

Located in the district by the same name, the assembly constituency of Ranchi belongs to Ranchi Lok Sabha constituency. The seat has been occupied by BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party) since 2005. Chandreshwar Prasad Singh of BJP won the 2009 assembly elections for the second consecutive time. He defeated Pradeep Tulsyan of INC (Indian National Congress) with a huge margin. Singh secured 66161 votes as against Tulsyan's 39050 votes. Having a population of 1,073,440, as per 2011 India census, the city centre of the Jharkhand movement. It is the second most populous city in the state. Well connected to major cities, the city has ample employment opportunities.

Sitting and previous MLAs from Ranchi Assembly Constituency

Below is the list of winners and runners-up in the Ranchi assembly elections conducted so far.

YearA C No.Constituency NameCategoryWinnerGenderPartyVotesRunner UpGenderPartyVotes
201463RanchiGENChandreshwar Prasad SinghMBJP95760Mahua MajiMJMM36897
200963RanchiGENChandreshwar Prasad SinghMBJP66161Pradeep TulsyanMINC39050
200563RanchiGENChandreshwar Prasad SinghMBJP74239Gopal Prasad SahuMINC48119

Last Updated on February 20, 2015

Track your constituency