Track your constituency

Karnal General(Lok Sabha) Election Results 2019

Elections Latest News And Updates


When we set out on the 2019 journey, the scenario was quite fuzzy. The opposition parties were resurgent after the 2018 Assembly Elections. Congress was brimming over with confidence, and Read More…

Exit Poll 2019 Lok Sabha Election Exit Poll 2019 Live Updates

Lok Sabha Election Exit Poll 2019 – Live Updates The mega 7-phase Lok Sabha elections are just a few hours away from conclusion with the voting in last phase scheduled Read More…

Phase 7 Live Updates Lok Sabha Elections 2019 – Seventh Phase Live Updates

  Previous Phases Live Voter Turnout 2014 vs 2019 – Assembly Constituency Wise Phase 5 | Phase 6 |  Phase 7 Live Voter Turnout 2014 vs 2019  |  Phase 7 Read More…

Phase 7 Live Voter Turnout Phase 7 Live Voter Turnout – 2014 vs 2019 – Segement Wise

Seventh Phase Live Voter Turnout – 2014 vs 2019   Previous Phases Voter Tunrout –  Phase 5 | Phase 6 |   Total Turnout – Phase 7 – 65.06%   Read More…

Phase 7 Opinion Poll WILL BJP CREATE HISTORY AND BEAT THE 300 MARK? – Phase 7 Opinion Poll

PHASE 7 LIVE UDPATES – CLICK HERE    When we gave out our first opinion poll before the start of the Elections 2019, we had projected 271 seats for BJP. Read More…

WILL BENGAL TURN SAFFRON IN 2019 Will Bengal Turn Saffron in 2019?

The year was 2009. Elections to the 15th Lok Sabhā had taken place. CPM led Left Front had been ruling West Bengal since 1977, and nobody had quite figured out Read More…

1st Runner Up
2nd Runner Up

A strong vote bank constituency for the Congress, the Karnal Lok Sabha seat is one of the 543 Lok Sabha constituencies that are presently represented in the Lower House of Parliament. Being one of the

Quick facts for Karnal

Assembly Constituencies 9
Ruling Party BJP
MPAshwini Kumar
Electorals 2014MaleFemaleTotal
No. of Electorals6917505731571264907
Polling stations1415
10 constituencies from the state of Haryana, this Lok Sabha constituency is spread across the entire district of Karnal, whose administrative capital is the city of Karnal which is an integral part of the parliamentary constituency of the same name. The total number of electorates in the Karnal Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 5) according to Election Commission of India 2009 reports are 1,216,977 of which 670,412 are males and 546,565 are females. Karnal district falls under the Rohtak division of Haryana.  

The district of Karnal is populous owing to as many as 15,05,324 people residing in it, as per the 2011 Census of India. Karnal is essentially an agricultural and farming region, as it houses the Agricultural and Dairy Research Institute, which is one of the best in the world. The economy of the parliamentary constituency is solely reliant on a rich agrarian support.  

Out of the nine assembly segments which make up this parliamentary seat, the assembly segments of Nilokheri and Israna are reserved for candidates belonging to the scheduled caste community.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Karnal Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Karnal parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Karnal constituency is Ashwini Kumar of BJP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category WinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
20145KarnalGENAshwini Kumar M BJP 594817 Arvind Kumar Sharma M INC 234670
20095KarnalGENSharma,Dr. Arvind Kumar MINC304698Maratha Virender VermaMBSP228352
20043KarnalGENArvind Kumar SharmaMINC318948I. D. SwamiMBJP154186
19993KarnalGENI.D. SwamiMBJP433733Bhajan LalMINC285879
19983KarnalGENBhajan LalMINC327750I.D. SwamiMBJP275689
19963KarnalGENIshwar Dayal SwamiMBJP338013Chiranji Lal SharmaMINC146148
19913KarnalGENChiranji Lal SharmaMINC200770Chasham Pal SinghMJD145598
19893KarnalGENChiranjit LalMINC274465Sushma SwarajFBJP265792
19843KarnalGENChiranji LalMINC247063Devi SinghMICJ148111
19803KarnalGENChiranji LalMINC(I)151786Sushma SwarajMJNP129458
1978By PollsKarnalGENM. SinghMJNP185843C.LalMINC(I)167464
19773KarnalGENBhagwat DayalMBLD340961Jagdish PrasadMINC64125
19712KarnalGENMadho RamMINC152249Rameshwara NandMBJS116988
19672KarnalGENM. RamMINC168204R. Nand MBJS168001
19512Karnal-1GENSubhadra JoshiMINC203588Madhav Acharya MRRP89475
19512Karnal-2GENVirendra KumarMINC151802Jugal Kishore MBJS66877

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about current sitting MP of Karnal Constituency

Name of MP Shri Ashwini Kumar
Age 62
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May 2014 to In office
Political Party Bharatiya Janata Party
Gender Male
Educational Qualification Degree in Journalism,
Activities of Shri Ashwini Kumar in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 5
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 332
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Karnal Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Karnal parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Nilokheri Indri Karnal
Gharaunda Assandh Panipat Rural
Panipat City Israna Samalkha

Last Updated on May 9, 2019