What will be the Voter turnout for Phase 2 of Chhattisgarh Elections 2018?
Elections.in WhatsappJoin Us on Whatsapp

New Delhi Lok Sabha Elections and Results 2014

New Delhi 2014 Lok Sabha Elections Summary

One of the 7 Parliamentary constituencies in the National Capital Territory of Delhi, the New Delhi Lok Sabha seat is one of the most prestigious constituencies in the national political scenario of India.
In the 2014 General Elections, the New Delhi constituency has been won by Meenakshi Lekhi of BJP. She received a total of 453350 votes, defeating her closest rival Ashish Khetan of AAP by a huge margin of 162708 votes.

This seat has witnessed political contestations among some of the most prominent leaders of the different political parties. Ajay Maken of the Congress, Meenakshi Lekhi of the BJP, Ashish Khetan of the AAP and veteran actor Biswajit Chatterjee of the TMC fought the elections from New Delhi constituency in the recently-held general elections. Interestingly, both Lekhi and Khetan have remained first time candidates. Taking on Congress General Secretary and spokesperson Ajay Maken who remained the MP from this constituency in the 14th and 15th Lok Sabha respectively, Lekhi drew immense support of the masses in the constituency.

The battle for New Delhi heated up when the Congress performed poorly in the Assembly elections to Delhi in 2013. However, Maken believed that the Congress would not perform so dismally in the Lok Sabha, as the general elections are fought on very different grounds as compared to Vidhan Sabha elections. While, Ajay Maken was a force to reckon with, the general anti-incumbency in the country was always a worry for the Congress MP. Meanwhile, newbie Meenakshi Lekhi spared no effort to reach out to voters and also hoped that the Modi wave would prop up her campaign for this prestige seat. But quietly making inroads, in a strategically planned door-to-door campaign was journalist-turned politician Ashish Khetan.

A powerhouse seat, New Delhi has had the likes of Atal Bihari Vajpayee & Lal Krishna Advani represent the seat. So, a win from here, for Meenakshi Lekhi for the first time, has definitely been a boost for her political prospects.

Being the capital city of the country, New Delhi determines a great deal of the political discourse of India. 1,373,146 is the total electorate count in the New Delhi Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 4). Out of these 767,222 number of electorates are males and the remaining 605,924 are belong to the female category as the Election commission of India 2009 reports suggest.
Prominent political leaders such as former Prime Minister of the country Atal Bihari Vajpayee and former Deputy Prime Minister Lal Krishna Advani of the BJP, as well as other BJP stalwarts like Jagmohan have been Members of Parliament from the New Delhi seat and have represented it from the very beginning. It was represented for the first two terms by the revolutionary leader Sucheta Kripalani, who began the Kisan Majdoor Praja Party and later associated herself with the Congress. This constituency came into existence in 1951, and has remained one of the main BJP bastions, as the party won the seat majority times. It was in the New Delhi constituency that Prime Minister Manmohan Singh of the Congress lost to Jagmohan of the BJP in a close fight in the 1999 general elections. However, the Congress has held sway over the New Delhi seat for the last two Lok Sabha elections of 2004 and 2009. With a population of 21,753,486, the New Delhi parliamentary seat is a considerably populated constituency. Being one of the most historically prominent regions of Delhi, this constituency stretches across regions such as Rajpath, Janpath, and Connaught Place, besides housing the Parliament Houses and the Delhi Secretariat. Till 2008, the constituency consisted of six segments. According to the Delimitation of Parliamentary and Constituencies Order of 2008, the reorganization of the Assembly segments was done in 2008 to finalize on 10 Assembly segments which comprise this noteworthy Parliamentary constituency. Some of the must-visit places in the New Delhi constituency are the Rashtrapati Bhavan, the India Gate, National Museum, Qutub Minar, Gurudwara Bangla Sahib, Lakshminarayan Temple, Sacred Heart Church, Gandhi Smriti, among others.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs New Delhi Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of New Delhi parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the New Delhi constituency is Meenakashi Lekhi of BJP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category WinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
20144New DelhiGENMeenakashi LekhiFBJP453350Ashish KhetanMAAP290642
20094New DelhiGENMaken,Shri Ajay MINC455867Vijay GoelMBJP268058
20041New DelhiGENAjay MakanMINC105415JagmohanMBJP92631
19991New DelhiGENJagmohanMBJP124626R.K.DhawanMINC96733
19981New DelhiGENJagmohanMBJP139905R.K. DhawanMINC107258
19961New DelhiGENJagmohanMBJP139945Rajesh KhannaMINC81630
1992By PollsNew DelhiGENRajesh KhannaMINC101625S.SinhaMBJP73369
19911New DelhiGENLal Krishan AdvaniMBJP93662Rajesh KhannaMINC92073
19891New DelhiGENLal Krishna AdvaniMBJP129256V. Mohini GiriFINC97415
19841New DelhiGENKrsihan Chandra PantMINC131932Kanwar Lal GuptaMBJP59046
19801New DelhiGENAtal Bihari VajpayeeMJNP94098C.M. StephenMINC(I)89053
19771New DelhiGENAtal Bihari VajpayeeMBLD125936Shashi BhushanMINC48750
19711New DelhiGENMukul BanerjiMINC81867M. L. Sondhi MBJS37334
19671New DelhiGENM.L SondhiMBJS82173M.C. Khanna MINC57313
19621New DelhiGENMehr Chand KhannaMINC96264Balraj MadhokMJS64669
1961By PollsNew DelhiGENBalraj MadhokMJS47184J.B.SinghMINC37603
19571New DelhiGENSucheta KripalaniMINC76540Bal RajMBJS22726
19511New DelhiGENSuchetia KripalaniMKMPP47735Man Mohani SehgalMINC40064

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

List of Assembly Constituencies in New Delhi Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in New Delhi parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Karol Bagh Rajinder Nagar Malviya Nagar
Patel Nagar New Delhi R. K. Puram
Moti Nagar Kasturba Nagar Greater Kailash
Delhi Cantt  

Last Updated on 20 November, 2018.

Track your constituency