Track Your Constituency

Mahasamund Election Results 2014

Mahasamund Parliamentary Constituency 2014 Election Results

Table showing the winning and the runner-up Candidate of the 2014 lok sabha election in Mahasamund.

YearPartySymbolstatusCandidate Namevotes
2014 BJP WinnerChandu Lal Sahu (Chandu Bhaiya) 503514
2014 INC Runner UpAjit Jogi 502297
YearPartySymbolstatusCandidate Namevotes
2009 BJPWinnerSahu,Shri Chandu Lal 371201

List of candidates of Mahasamund constituency for 2014

The table below shows who are the contesting BJP, Congress, independent etc. candidates from the Mahasamund Constituency in the Chhattisgarh General (Lok Sabha) Elections 2014.

Mahasamund , Constituency No -(9)
Election Date17/04/2014 
Result Date16/05/2014 
Election SymbolPartyCandidate Name
BSPKanhaiya Lal Sahu
AAPLakshman Masuriya
BJP Chandu Lal Sahu (Chandu Bhaiya)
INC Ajit Jogi
INDGangadhar Patel
INDChandu Ram Sahu
INDChanduram Sahu
INDChandu Ram Sahu
INDChandoo Lal Sahu
INDChandu Lal Sahu
INDChandu Lal Sahu
INDChandu Lal Sahu
INDChandu Lal Sahu
INDChampa Lal Patel
INDChandu Lal Sahu
INDChandu Lal Sahu
INDDev Prasad Kelkar
INDMotilal Sahu
INDMoti Lal Sahu
INDDr. Rupanand Soi
INDVijay Kumar Patel
INDSukhnandan Deshkar
INDHemant Pradhan

CSMAbha Pandey (Gudia)

GGPPreeti Dhruw

BHSCPMohan Lal Patel

ADPatel Shri Dhar Chandrakar

A pivotal vote-bank of the Congress, the Mahasamund Lok Sabha seat in the Maoism-infected state of Chhattisgarh is one of the 11 constituencies in the state. According to Election Commission of India 2009 data the total electorates in the
Mahasamund Parliamentary constituency (constituency number 9) were 1,369,154 of which 685,462 are females and 683,692 are males. The Mahasamund constituency covers the entire district of Mahasamund, while spreading over portions of the Raipur and Dhamtari districts.

Out of the eight Assembly constituencies that make up this Lok Sabha segment, only two segments, namely Saraipali and Dhamtari, are reserved for candidates belonging to the marginalized sections of society. The Saraipali, Basna, Khallari and Mahasamund assembly segments together cover the Mahasamund District, while Rajim and Bindranawagarh assembly segments are part of Raipur District. On the other hand, Kurud and Dharamjaigarh constituencies are part of the Dhamtari District. This Parliamentary constituency holds political significance, as it brought to power former Chief Minister Ajit Jogi of the Congress (2004 parliamentary elections). The economy in this region is solely reliant on agriculture, although heavy industries such as paper-making, steel and handicrafts are famous and growing. Mahasamund is a fairly sparsely populated region, having only 776,217 people (2011 census).

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Mahasamund Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Mahasamund parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Mahasamund constituency is Shri Chandu Lal Sahu of BJP.

Year PC No. PC Name Category WinnerSexPartyVoteRunner UpSexPartyVote
20149MahasamundGENChandu Lal Sahu (Chandu Bhaiya) M BJP 503514 Ajit Jogi M INC 502297
20099MahasamundGENSahu,Shri Chandu Lal MBJP371201Motilal SahuMINC319726
20047MahasamundGENAjit JogiMINC414647Vidhya Charan ShuklaMBJP296142
199918MahasamundGENShyama Charan ShuklaMINC340635Chandra Shekhar Sahu " Champu"MBJP325200
199818MahasamundGENChandrashekhar Sahu (Champu)MBJP332874Pawan DiwanMINC285142
199618MahasamundGENPawan DiwanMINC250521Chandra SekharMBJP243581
199118MahasamundGENPawan DiwanMINC205362Chandrashekar SahuMBJP183883
198918MahasamundGENVidyacharan ShuklaMJD243126Pawan DiwanMINC230232
198418MahasamundGENVidyacharan Shukla MINC233325Ramesh MBJP94185
198018MahasamundGENVidya Charan Shukla Ravishankar ShuklaMINC(I)169098Brijlal VermaMJNP67201
197718MahasamundGENBrijlal VermaMBLD182054Shrikrishna AgrawalMINC102527
197114MahasamundGENKrishna AgrawalMINC82804Gyashtri Kumari FBJS67247
196714MahasamundGENV. ShuklaMINC103885D. SinghMBJS37799
1964By PollsMahasamundGENV.C.ShuklaMINC46671PurshottamlalMPSP24850
196215MahasamundGENVidya Charan ShuklaMINC56664Khoob Chand BaghelMPSP53872
1952By PollsMahasamundGENM. BagdiMKMPP49938NemichandMINC41770
19514MahasamundGENSheodas Daga MINC110886AdwaitgirMKMPP48292

*PC = Parliamentary Constituency

Facts about current sitting MP of Mahasamund Constituency

Name of MP Chandu Lal Sahu
Age 55
Nature of Membership Elected
Term 18-May-14 to In office
Political Party Bharatiya Janata Party
Gender Male
Educational Qualification Graduate
Activities of Chandu Lal Sahu in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 3
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 0
Attendance 93% Verdict

Note : (Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 23 Dec 2014.)

List of Assembly Constituencies in Mahasamund Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Mahasamund parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies
Saraipali (SC) Mahasamund Kurud
Basna Rajim Dhamtari
Khallari Bindranawagarh (ST)

Last Updated on February 24, 2015

Compare Infobase Limited
(ISO 9001:2000 Certified Company)
Copyright All right reserved