Which state goes to assembly elections next?
Elections.in Whatsapp Join Us on Whatsapp
Home» Blog» Congress’ Candidate list for Karnataka Elections

Congress’ Candidate list for Karnataka Elections

April 16, 2018

Congress Candidates List

Congress party released its first list of 218 candidates for the upcoming Karnataka state assembly elections. After weeks of speculations and self-imposed deadlines, the Congress party on Sunday evening released the list of candidates. Karnataka Chief Minister vacated Varuna constituency seat for his son Dr. Yatheendra, while he will contest the next month’s assembly elections from Chamundeshwari.

The Karnataka CM was in Delhi to discuss the names of minsters and leaders for the upcoming Karnataka elections with the party high command. The stakes are high for Congress party in the Karnataka Assembly elections, as the party looks to strengthen its vote base for next year’s Lok Sabha elections and to retain the state of Karnataka. The Congress candidates list for Karnataka election saw majority number of sitting legislators being given tickets by the party. The rebels from JD(S), who joined the Congress party recently, were given tickets, while some names did miss out, although, six seats are still left and it remains to be seen, which leaders and party members get ticket for the final six seats in the upcoming elections.

The list features some of the daughters and sons of senior Congress state leaders receiving tickets to contest the elections, including Soumya, daughter of Karnataka Home Minister Ramalinga Reddy and Housing Minister M Krishnappa’s son Priya Krishna. Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee chief G Parameshwara said he will be contesting from the Korategere Assembly constituency, where he lost in the last state assembly elections. The Congress’ first candidate list had CM’s approval, as many of Siddaramaiah’s loyalists were given the ticket for the assembly elections, with controversial businessman Ashok Kheny receiving the ticket to contest from Bidar South.

Prominent state leaders like UT Khader and RV Deshpande were given the election tickets to contest from Haliyal and Mangalore seats. On the other hand, controversial cabinet minister, DK Shivakumar will be contesting from Kanakpura, while famous actor Ambareesh will be contesting from Mandya. Siddaramaiah’s plan to contest from two constituencies were dashed as Congress party President Rahul Gandhi felt that it will reflect negatively on CM’s chances of winning Chamundeshwari constituency. With less than a month left for the Congress to fight off anti-incumbency, the party looks to become the first party since the last 30 years to retain the majority in Karnataka assembly elections.


Pin It

Disclaimer: The views expressed are of those of the author and do not represent the views of Elections.in.


Track your constituency