Track your constituency

Katihar Parliamentary Constituency Election and Results Update

Live Election News

Once upon a time, Bengaluru was called City of Lakes, now most of the lakes are polluted, being encroached upon: P C @PCMohanMP while discussion on Motion of Thanks on Read More…

Congress leader in Lok Sabha, Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury: Did you manage to catch anybody in 2G & coal allocation scam? Did you manage to send Sonia Gandhi ji & Rahul Read More…

Don’t know how long Congress-JD(S) govt in Karnataka will survive: Deve Gowda  

Latest Election News and Update

Results Live Updates 2019 Lok Sabha (General) Election Results 2019 – Live Updates

Lok Sabha Election Results 2019 Live Updates   Exit Poll by Various Pollsters – Click Here Check Live Election Results 2019 – State Wise & Constituency Wise   21:09:15 केंद्रीय Read More…


When we set out on the 2019 journey, the scenario was quite fuzzy. The opposition parties were resurgent after the 2018 Assembly Elections. Congress was brimming over with confidence, and Read More…

Exit Poll 2019 Lok Sabha Election Exit Poll 2019 Live Updates

Lok Sabha Election Exit Poll 2019 – Live Updates The mega 7-phase Lok Sabha elections are just a few hours away from conclusion with the voting in last phase scheduled Read More…

Phase 7 Live Updates Lok Sabha Elections 2019 – Seventh Phase Live Updates

  Previous Phases Live Voter Turnout 2014 vs 2019 – Assembly Constituency Wise Phase 5 | Phase 6 |  Phase 7 Live Voter Turnout 2014 vs 2019  |  Phase 7 Read More…

Phase 7 Live Voter Turnout Phase 7 Live Voter Turnout – 2014 vs 2019 – Segement Wise

Seventh Phase Live Voter Turnout – 2014 vs 2019   Previous Phases Voter Tunrout –  Phase 5 | Phase 6 |   Total Turnout – Phase 7 – 65.06%   Read More…

Phase 7 Opinion Poll WILL BJP CREATE HISTORY AND BEAT THE 300 MARK? – Phase 7 Opinion Poll

PHASE 7 LIVE UDPATES – CLICK HERE    When we gave out our first opinion poll before the start of the Elections 2019, we had projected 271 seats for BJP. Read More…

In 2009 Election Results the UPA won around 261 out of 543 seats, and in the second position was NDA with 158 seats, while 23 seats were won by Left parties.

In 2014 Election Results the BJP won 282 seats out of 543 seats. This took the NDA tally to 336 seats out of 543 seats in the Lok Sabha. INC could only manage to win 44 seats and stayed in the second position while AIADMK party from Tamil Nadu came third with 37 seats in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections.

In 2019, the BJP is set to return to power at the Centre after a sweeping win in the 2019 Lok Sabha election , armed with a bigger mandate than in the 2014 General Election. The party - led by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah duo has secured 303 seats in the 17th Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Congress, the main Opposition party, managed to increase its vote share from 2014 only by a handful of votes, with a final tally of 52 seats. There will be no Leader of Opposition in the upcoming Lower House for a second consecutive term.

Katihar Lok Sabha Election Results 2019

CandidatePartyEVM VotesMigrant VotesPostal VotesTotal Votes% of VotesStatus
Dulal Chandra GoswamiJanata Dal (United)558984043955942350.05Winner
Tariq AnwarIndian National Congress502044017650222044.931st Runner-up
NOTANone Of The Above20572012205841.842nd Runner-up
Muhammad ShakurNationalist Congress Party923401492480.833rd Runner-up
Samir Kumar JhaIndependent81120781190.734th Runner-up
Marang HansdaIndependent622502262470.565th Runner-up
Shivnandan MandalBahujan Samaj Party398103340140.366th Runner-up
Ganga KebatRashtriya Jansambhavna Party29340329370.267th Runner-up
Basukinath SahBharatiya Bahujan Congress26320126330.248th Runner-up
Abdur RahmanPeoples Party Of India (Democratic)23060323090.219th Runner-up

Belonging to the district of Katihar in the eastern Indian state of Bihar is the parliamentary constituency of the same name. The Katihar Lok Sabha constituency is one of the 40 Lok Sabha seats which belong to Bihar. The Katihar Lok Sabha Constituency (constituency number 11) consists of 1,272,769 number of electorates in totality, of these 675,944 are males and 596,825 are females as the Election commission of India 2009 data suggests.

As part of the Purnia Division, the Katihar district has the town of Katihar as its administrative headquarters. The district of Katihar was formed as one of the 38 districts in the state of Bihar in the year 1973, when it was split from the Purnia district. This district was recognized by the Ministry of Panchayati Raj in 2006 as one of the most backward districts in the state; thus it is being funded under special economic schemes such as the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme. This constituency of Katihar has remained a BJP stronghold for the last few Lok Sabha elections, with Nikhil Kumar Choudhary of the party currently dominating the political space. He has been elected as MP of Katihar for three consecutive elections in a row, beginning in 1999 till now. Seven Vidhan Sabha segments constitute the parliamentary constituency of Katihar in Bihar.

List of winner/current and runner up MPs Katihar Parliamentary Constituency.

The table below represents the names of all the winning and runner up MPs of Katihar parliamentary constituency of all the years from the starting until now . It also shows the number of votes secured by each MP and the name of the political party they belong to. The current sitting member of parliament of the Katihar constituency is Shri Tariq Anwar of Nationalist Congress Party.

Year PC No. PC Name Category WinnerGenderPartyVoteRunner UpGenderPartyVote
201411KatiharGenTariq AnwarMNationalist Congress Party431292Nikhil Kumar ChoudharyMBJP316552
200911KatiharGENChoudhary,Shri Nikhil Kumar MBJP269834Harish ChoudharMNCP255819
200425KatiharGENNikhil Kumar ChoudharyMBJP288922Shah Tariq AnwarMNCP286357
199925KatiharGENNikhil Kumar ChoudharyMBJP280911Tariq AnwarMNCP144059
199825KatiharGENTariq AnawarMINC337360Nikhil Kumar ChoudharyMBJP316923
199625KatiharGENTariq AnwarMINC267927Nikhil Kumar ChoudharyMBJP179641
199124KatiharGENMd. Yunus SalimMJD174430Tarique AnwerMINC150808
198925KatiharGENYuvarjMJD338782Tarique AnwarMINC235604
198425KatiharGENTariq AnwarMINC229883JuvrajMJNP183940
198025KatiharGENShah Tarique AnwarMINC(I)138099YuvrajMJNP99943
197725KatiharGENYuvrajMBLD215074Shah Mohammad Tarique (Anwar)MINC85285
197123KatiharGENGyaneshwar Prasad YadavMBJS96422Sita Ram Keshri MINC83533
196723KatiharGENS. KeshariMINC58776P. Gupta MPSP57803
196223KatiharGENPriya GuptaFPSP82531Bhola Nath BiswasMINC64994
1958By PollsKatiharGENB. BiswasMINC57290JuvrajMPSP32952
195719KatiharGENAwadhesh Kumar SinghMINC78289Safiqul HaqueMIND24283

Facts about current sitting MP of Katihar Constituency

Name of MP Shri Tariq Anwar
Age 67
Nature of Membership Elected
Term May, 2014 to In office
Political Party Nationalist Congress Party
Gender Male
Educational Qualification B.Sc.
Activities of Shri Tariq Anwar in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 38
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 120
Attendance N/A

Note:Data corresponds to the period 1 June 2014 to 13 Feb 2018.

List of Assembly Constituencies in Katihar Parliamentary Constituency

The table below shows the list of all the Assembly Constituencies that fall in Katihar parliamentary constituency.

Names of Assembly Constituencies

Last Updated on July 1, 2019